We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Distance to Capitol/Convention Center & No Charge for Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Weed, United States
1 review
“Walking Distance to Capitol/Convention Center & No Charge for Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Liked that this was a smaller hotel and it was open air with the pool in the center. Within walking distance of capitol, IMAX, Convention Center, etc. Free parking! Many selections for breakfast. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    142
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
74
81
22
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you will be in Sacramento for business or pleasure, I would encourage you to stay at the Sutter House. Their staff is friendly, helpful and happy to help. The rooms are exactly as expected based on their website. The free breakfast, while not a full continental, is filling and the free WiFI and free parking are a value added bonus. Will stay there again next time I am planning an extended stay. We were there for an entire week and it was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My spouse booked a room here for a nice romantic experience, got a room facing the poolside. Nice, but small lobby, friendly receptionist, nice, spacious room, comfortable bed, complimentary wi-fi, mini-fridge, microwave, complimentary continental breakfast from 6M-9:30AM including make your own waffles, frozen breakfast burritos, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, tea, apple & orange juices, allow yourself an hour for breakfast, don't show up within the last half hour. This was one of the best lodging places of the ones stayed on this July trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place is not only people friendly, but also provides a clean room at an affordable rate with free breakfast, exercise room and a pool. I was on a business trip and my meeting location was right across from this hotel. The place is walking distance to the capital building. By night fall, the area is somewhat deserted and there aren't too many eating places close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Don't unpack your bags too quickly here. Scout out the room first - make sure everything is in order. We stayed for 3 days at this downtown Sacramento Motor Hotel. They have a lot of pluses in their favor. Location, good parking, tidy grounds, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly service, and a nice breakfast set up. But there were some issues for us. The first day we were in room 212 and we had a couple of problems that required us asking for a room change for the next 2 days. The internet is not easily available in that corner of the building. Also there was something wrong with the sink drain. Plus the room had an odor to it. So we moved to room 225, much better for the internet and no other issues we thought until we got back in the evening and the air-conditioning wasn't working properly - it made normal air sounds but the room was hot and we couldn't cool it down- instead we slept with our window open. Well the morning train stops right outside Room 225 so I was up at 5:30ish I think .... I can't even remember it was so early. I just shut the window and went back to sleep. We didn't want to move again so we kept quiet about it, cranked the air conditioner to MAX and highest speed and went off to Old Sacramento for the day. It was a little better the next night but still warm and Sacramento in July is pretty toasty.

Room Tip: Don't unpack your bags until you're satisfied with the Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and other asp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is close to the Capitol (walking distance), and if you are energetic Old Town Sacramento. We chose it because it was on a less busy street and we were pleased with the quiet neighborhood. And our room had a Capitol dome view! Other good features - free covered parking (there is even a locked area for motorcycles), updated rooms, friendly staff. We had a small AC issue and the staff immediately took care of it, even moving our bags for us. The hotel has a 60's design with a pool in the center courtyard. It appeared to us that everything had been recently updated from the pool to the rooms to the hallways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Motel is close to downtown Sacramento which makes it easy to walk to restaurants and the Capitol. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was welcoming. The pool was a nice size.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.