We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I’m on a mission to visit all 50 state capital buildings, hence our stay in Sacramento. Again Best Western is a hotel chain whose quality and level varies greatly. This was seemly a delightful place to stay.

Our room was clean and large. The bathroom was a bit skimpy on space for two travelers trying to get ready at the same time, but we worked it out.

The location was perfect for our endeavor. When we arrived early evening we checked in. The staff was friendly and helpful. After placing the luggage in our room we walked the down town area and the mall area, a very pleasant evening. We finished up at the restaurant/bar next to the hotel which we enjoyed. Next morning we were up early for our visit to the capital and checked out afterwards.

I do not remember a breakfast here??

Definitely consider this hotel when you are staying in Sacramento.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, we truly appreciate you taking the time and hope to see you again soon.

Doris Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    162
    48
    17
    14
See reviews for
92
99
24
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

In the middle of the night we had a major water leak coming from the ceiling in the bathroom which completely soaked all of our clothes and every towel we had in the room. When I called front desk to notify them the man said not to worry about it that it was not a big deal and just leaking because of the air conditioner which I was not using. After I emailed the hotel the next day the women I spoke to pretty much called me a liar and said there was nothing wrong with the room. I will never stay at this hotel again and urge others to not book here either.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am truly sorry for your experience, after having spoken with you on the phone, our maintenance engineer returned to the room and removed all of the ceiling panels in the bathroom to see if he could locate where the leak was coming from. They also ran the water in the tub and sink in the rooms above the one you were in as well as inspecting the lines to the air conditioner and unfortunately could not duplicate what you experienced during your stay with us. I hope that you use the discount that we offered you and give us another opportunity.

Regards,
Doris Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was in town for a conference, and while most of my other colleagues stayed at the "fancier" hotels in town, I had a better room, a fridge, a microwave, breakfast, free parking, convenient check in/check-out (no lines), and my room was even ready right when I got into town (noon). (My friends at the Sheraton had to wait until after check-in time for their rooms). The small size of the hotel makes it the most convenient for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Traveler,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review us and hope that the next time you travel to Sacramento you will stay with us.

Regards,
Doris Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Free parking, free internet, pool, free breakfast and a extremely pleasant staff, day and night. The price is great and the rooms are very comfortable. Any time that I am going to have to spend a night in Sacramento, this is the only place that I stay, unless they are booked, which happens a lot because they are wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we truly appreciate it!

Hope to see you again soon,
Regards
Doris Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everything EXCEPT the bed was great. Beds (at least the one in our room) need to be updated. The location is great, and the free continental breakfast was better than most. Onsite parking (free) is a real bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our room was on the top floor, in a corner and away from other rooms. But you could hear the people in the hall, the tv in the room next door and the traffic outside.
The room was good sized and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was only okay, with 2 waffle makers, biscuits and gravy (eh), cereals, fruits, etc. Typical mid-class hotel breakfast.
As others have stated, it is within walking distances to many places downtown, including the capital, city hall, and convention center. 4 miles from the Cal Expo.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor and overlooking the parking garage (away from street noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ione, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is a great location. Walking distance to all downtown restaurants, capital, etc. The place is clean, well furnished and reasonably priced. Free off street parking. The breakfast is very nice with hot waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.