We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Nice location less than 15 minutes from the old town and restaurants. The pool looked good and staff were all frienndly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, the beds were VERY comfortable and the breakfast pretty good. All furniture and fittings worked well.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift or the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    142
    42
    17
    13
See reviews for
73
80
22
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great free parking garage, easy access, comfy rooms great beds and pillows, large flat screen tv, swimming pool and good breakfast, from waffles, biscuits and gravy to fresh fruit! It was very clean and Jeremy on the night staff was great, he let us use the microwave to pop popcorn! Also close to the melting pot a great fondue restraunt. close to old town Sac. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: rooms on floor 1 are close to pool with sliding glass door right to the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed during the CA BAR exam. Clean, close (3 short blocks) to Convention Center, decent breakfast, small problem with AC, but willing to work with you. Good price, friendly people. Nice pool. Would definately stay again, but for other reasons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Excellent value, good service. Solid choice. I stayed here on business and it was safe, clean, a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very handy for the places we wanted to see, State Capitol and Old Sacramento both easy walking distance. Room comfortable, no view (a tyre shop!) but we weren't in the room much. Pool area pleasant after a hot day sightseeing, and free parking great as we could safely leave our car parked for the 2 days we were there and not worry about it at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Central, clean and great for the money. The car parking is free also. Oh... check out the thai restaurant "Bangkok at 12" which is very close to the hotel... great food. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Generally speaking, this is a decent hotel. The location is great if you're going to the Convention Center but want a place with free parking and free breakfast. The staff was also very nice (although one of the staff members basically said that he couldn't help with anything because he's "just a desk clerk" and I'd have to call the manager for anything).

The room was clean and the bed was comfy. I am always happy to see outlets "on" the desk rather than "under" the desk or, even worse, in places where I have to move furniture or crawl around to find a plug. However, there weren't any outlets on either side of the bed, which is a pet peeve (I charge my phone at night but also use it as an alarm and prefer it on a night table rather than across the room).

The breakfast was also OK if you stick with the waffles with the high-fructose corn syrup maple syrup-like substance, the oatmeal, or the fruit. Everything else is prepackaged and taken out of its individual wrapper to be displayed in the breakfast room. When will hotels start providing good, healthful, wholesome breakfasts? I digress.

The kicker for me, thus the loss of so many stars, was two-fold: First, the walls are paper thin. Even when having a normal conversation, you can hear every word in the room next door. HIGHLY annoying. Second, they advertise free wireless internet, but in 4 days I could only access the web once. The computer indicated that the wireless was working and had high connectivity, but the log-in page to enter the free username and password just wouldn't load. So I ended up missing a lot of work that I was expecting to be able to get done.

If I had to come back to Sac for an event at the Convention Center, I might stay here again simply because it's proximity in relation to the amenities. But I will bring a back-up internet connection. And earplugs.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.