We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gat value and location to river walkway and Old Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gat value and location to river walkway and Old Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although our room was a little on the well-used side, the price and location were great. We had no issues with noise and thoroughly enjoyed an early morning walk along the river walkway taking in the historical significance of the geographical and man-made surroundings. It seems a reasonable distance to walk to Old Sacramento, although we did not have time for that. Easy access to freeways fascilitated our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing the details of your great experience at our Hotel. Your insight aids in improving the quality of services we deliver to our dear customers. We are pleased to know that you liked our accommodation and location offered at a great value. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    179
    50
    21
    11
See reviews for
116
112
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although the Best Western Sandman looks plain on the outside, the rooms really are quite nice and clean. Although the motel is across the street from an Interstate Freeway, the rooms on the second floor, river side of the building is another world. I go to Sacramento 4 times a year for work and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you traveled on business. Your insightful review makes us aware of how well we have accommodated you during your stay. It is good to hear that you were delightfully surprised with our excellent and well-maintained rooms as well as our convenient location. Your input helps us grow and improve more on the quality of services we offer. Please do consider us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

When you aren't familiar with an area you are at the mercy of the hotel's website and their pictures. While the Sandman made it seem like it was a nice little family hotel with easy river access, it is actually within view of the freeway and in a congested area of many hotels and gas stations. The easy river access is a barbed wired gated passway to a dark bike path and even on a moonlit night we couldn't see the river, nor did we feel safe or comfortable walking down the pathway. The breakfast room is also accessed with a room key. Our room was overlooking the parking lot and when the loud air conditioner went off the loud freeway noise kept us awake. The room also smelled very damp and musty when we first opened the door. I was basically looking for a cheap quiet room close to the airport before our flight, but I may as well have stayed at one of the hotels next to the airport and listened to the jets fly overhead. The breakfast was basic and did open nice and early for those of us who wanted to get out of there quickly. Don't forget to take a glance at the fake animal statues by the cheesy waterfall. It will make you smile and shake your head!

Room Tip: If you absolutely want to stay here ask for a room at the back, riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. The River access is very popular with all of our guests. Unfortunately it is a Wild River therefore it is not lit up at night. The bike/walking path is intended mainly for day use. We have not heard of any problems on the bike path. We will look into the a/c problem and install new weatherstripping. We hope you try one of our riverside rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We've stayed at the Best Western Sandman hotel 4 or 5 times now. It's clean and comfortable - not super fancy but well worth the price. Easy access to the river front is ideal for travelling with pets and children. Easy walk to Old Town Sacramento even with little ones. Really friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for continuously choosing to stay at our Hotel. Our goal is to provide a pleasurable experience that is of great value so our guests are happy with their selection. Our staff will always welcome you with our clean and comfortable rooms as well as friendly and warm ambiance. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

For us, the best part of t his hotel was it's location near the river walk ... just a short mile or so walk to Old Sacramento and another mile or so to the Capitol. We traveled with our dogs so the hotel being dog friendly was our initial draw. The "pet area" leaves much to be desired BUT it was there and useable. The room was nice and the bed comfy. Unfortunately, they do not offer pay for view movies. The breakfast was good ... the coffee was good ... AND they had yogurt flavors other than strawberry. The order-in menu was OK. I would NOT recommend the "Mexican" restaurant located in the parking lot ... in fact ... that establishment left me wondering if I would ever want Mexican food again.

Room Tip: Request a room located on the back of the building ... near the stairs leading to the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and it is so nice to know that you enjoyed your room and breakfast as well. It is such a great compliment to hear about our guests enjoying our Hotel and all it has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Excellent housekeeping, very clean, convenient to downtown, river path nearby. Ask for a top floor room on the levee, facing the river. Lush landscape and river access. Great value for a clean and comfortable room with a friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We really appreciate you sharing such kind words about your recent experience. We take great pride in providing our guests with great ammenities at a very reasonable price. We will continue to strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was very clean, bed comfortable. Breakfast room was well stocked and friendly staff! Great price for the accommodations. There is a great Bike/Walk trail that is located just behind the hotel. A very pleasant walk right into Old Town Sacramento.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Darlene,

It is flattering to hear such a glowing review. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable and breakfast enjoyable. I am glad you found the location to be so ideal as well. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.