We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value in Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

For us, the best part of t his hotel was it's location near the river walk ... just a short mile or so walk to Old Sacramento and another mile or so to the Capitol. We traveled with our dogs so the hotel being dog friendly was our initial draw. The "pet area" leaves much to be desired BUT it was there and useable. The room was nice and the bed comfy. Unfortunately, they do not offer pay for view movies. The breakfast was good ... the coffee was good ... AND they had yogurt flavors other than strawberry. The order-in menu was OK. I would NOT recommend the "Mexican" restaurant located in the parking lot ... in fact ... that establishment left me wondering if I would ever want Mexican food again.

Room Tip: Request a room located on the back of the building ... near the stairs leading to the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and it is so nice to know that you enjoyed your room and breakfast as well. It is such a great compliment to hear about our guests enjoying our Hotel and all it has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    154
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
99
91
25
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Excellent housekeeping, very clean, convenient to downtown, river path nearby. Ask for a top floor room on the levee, facing the river. Lush landscape and river access. Great value for a clean and comfortable room with a friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We really appreciate you sharing such kind words about your recent experience. We take great pride in providing our guests with great ammenities at a very reasonable price. We will continue to strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was very clean, bed comfortable. Breakfast room was well stocked and friendly staff! Great price for the accommodations. There is a great Bike/Walk trail that is located just behind the hotel. A very pleasant walk right into Old Town Sacramento.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Darlene,

It is flattering to hear such a glowing review. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable and breakfast enjoyable. I am glad you found the location to be so ideal as well. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very nice and safe hotel very close to the Capita. Clean rooms, full breakfast and great staff. Highly recommended. If you eat at the Mexican restaurant that is literally about 50 yards away, you get an additional 20% discount off your meal and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay at our Hotel. Feedback we receive from our valued customers aids us in improving the services we provide to every guest as well as let us know what we are doing right. We are happy to know that your entire stay was comfortable, appreciated our accessible location and at the same time satisfied with the great discount on your meal and drinks.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

great breakfast .. would love to see scrambled eggs or something similar. hard boiled eggs are ok but lets see some omelets. kids love the waffles machines. yogurt 3 different juices lots of Danishes to choose from

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. Our breakfast choices are thoughtfully prepared to ensure that it will be fulfilling and refreshing. We are happy that your kids loved it! It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests and we are glad that we’ve achieved that during your stay.

We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The staff take pride in this freeway hotel. Nestled in a hot bed of other discount hotels this Best Western was worth the $15 more for an excellent quality mattress and room that didn't smell like a car air-freshener.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our dedication to excellent service delivery is inspired by positive customer experiences shared by our valued guests.

Our Hotel prides itself with quality accommodations and excellent amenities at a great value in a very convenient location. We are happy that you appreciated that during your stay and hope to deliver even better services should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel provide a safe room. There was a lot of parking. Pillows wee very fluffy. The food offered for breakfast was a variety. Waffles, cereal, oatmeal, breads, muffins, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. The lad in he dining area was very helpful and friendly. I would stay again if the need arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We are dedicated to excellent service delivery and the comments we receive from our dear customers inspire us more to constantly strive to exceed your expectations of our services. You’ve covered a lot of our amenities and we are thrilled to know that you’ve enjoyed our accommodations- safe room, wonderful pillows, fulfilling breakfast and the efficient services provided by our staff.

We value your business. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.