We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cottonwood, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice room, very clean and friendly. Although, their shuttle service was not available we had to take a taxi to the convention center, which became quite expensive. Definately would stay there again if not having to depend on a Taxi. The Mexican restaurant in front is horrible..really bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. We assure you that we will maintain the quality of our hotel’s cleanliness and services. We are looking forward to serve you on your next stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    119
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
79
75
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I requested a non-pet-friendly room due to allergies and was accommodated without a problem. Although many people did have pets with them, there was no noise problems. It was a concern for me. Very quiet and comfortable night.
Great choices for breakfast, and plenty to satisfy even the fussy eaters. Fabulous location, easy to get around town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable and felt accommodated during your recent stay at our Hotel. It is always of highest priority to us that all of our guests are happy and satisfied. We will continue to provide the quality of service that you enjoyed and should expect. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Easy to find, It has a large parking lot. smooth professional checkin. On one visit to the area, we tried the other B. W. But in our opinion this one was overall better & the location felt safer. When in Sacramento the Sandman is our choice. We requested & received a quiet room on the second floor overlooking the River walk. Our room was not very large, but clean, with a micro wave & refrigerator. There is no elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage you might consider a room on the ground level. We had a good quiet restful night in a comfortable queen size bed. Breakfast is available in a dedicated room on the ground level, it was an enhanced continental meal with a good selection, with an cheerful attendant that was very helpful. My only regret was I neglected to get her name. Our day trip to.Old Town was a little disappointing. The store clerks seemed more interested in having conversations among themselves or people they knew, and socializing on the phone. We visited on old time candy store, the man never said hello or asked if he could help us. We revisited the Steamer restaurant, from our last visit. Ordered the clam chowder with bacon topping. The bacon chips were dry and tasteless, & we never did find the clams. Checkout from the Sandman was efficient, they asked about our stay, we advised them everything was great & if we are in the area again, we will return. When exiting the parking lot to return to the highway, be careful about oncoming traffic. There is a blind spot with traffic coming around the curve in both directions moving pretty fast.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are less susceptible to noise from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing this detailed review about your experience at our Hotel. Our goal is to continue to provide clean, comfortable and enjoyable accommodations for our guests. We appreciate you sharing your opinion about our breakfast and your pleasant interactions with our staff. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon Grove, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 4 years in a row with no problems or issues. We would highly recommend this hotel based on quality, location, service and amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful and everything in the room is as advertised and works. We like the big TV and the rooms are pretty quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Paul,
Thank you for your review. We will continue to work hard to meet or exceed your standards
We look forward to your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

very pet friendly; nice continental breakfast with friendly staff; close to Sacramento River for walks during the day; close to downtown and all the freeways; plus gas stations just up the street; only drawback is older construction, so sound travels more easily from room to room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Our pet friendly rooms have been a big hit. Combined with the access to the Sacramento River and the pet area makes it simple and convenient.
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location is convenient to the Capitol and many historical sites. It is located just of the freeway - but I heard no traffic noise. The breakfast choices were abundant and presented in a clean and organized manner. It was so much fun making my own waffle!! The coffee was tasty and of good quality. I have stayed and higher priced hotels and this one far exceed my desires and needs. There is interior and exterior art exhibited - plus beautiful Spanish tile walkways. NICE!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for noticing the details. We strive to constantly upgrade to a better quality product.
Hope to see you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly & professional. I had guests for take out & appreciated the sofa & coffee table in the room. It worked well to use the desk for my tablet. The hotel is adjacent to the river with a nice walking path.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. The private access to the river is very popular. We continually upgrade our rooms and grounds to provide the best possible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.