We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location along the Sacramento River!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Salt Spring Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location along the Sacramento River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Arizona. Our room backed onto the walking trails along the river, which was good for taking our dogs for walks. It had a secured access to the trails so we felt quite safe. The rooms were spacious and quite clean with a microwave and fridge. Wifi was free. The location was good just off the I-5. There were 2 gas stations and 1 Mexican restaurant close by. Good continental breakfast with waffles.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    158
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
102
92
26
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I booked at the last minute for a business trip, asked for a king facing the river. The staff was as accommodating as could be, but since there was a big wine event in Sac. we were given a double queen facing the river. Beautiful sunset! The room was crowed with furniture, but all we needed was rest, a good dinner, and sleep. We departed very early after a hot shower and a quick light breakfast in a pleasant breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river on the second floor. If your curtains are open you may observe walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, or
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stay here often. Always clean, always helpful, courteous staff, good conteniental breakfast in the morning. This motel is used by serious travelers who are generally quiet and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for one night before our flight home. Had a riverside room. The walk along the river is nice, but at night the homeless do show up. Had to leave too early for the breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family chose this hotel because of the location next to the Riverwalk and Old Sacramento. The inside of the room was actually very nice, big too! The woman in the breakfast room was really nice and helpful. However, the pool areas was gross. Everyone seemed to smoke, even in the pool. The Riverwalk was unwalkable because of the homeless and other creepy types. It was loud at all times of the day and night. The clientel was scary and did I mention that everyone smokes...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Researched many hotels in area for our 4 day stay. The location of this property is very unique and is why I ultimately made the choice. It backs up to the American River Parkway and the room key gives you access to this beautiful pathway. A 5 minute stroll north takes you to a sandy beach area and a 10 minute stroll south goes towards Old Town Sac. You are walking along this waterfront and it's just beautiful. The scenery is wonderful and very relaxing. This property is very well maintained. The grounds are so clean, all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was well stocked. 4 cereal choices, oatmeal, toast/bagels/muffins. Make your own belgian waffles. Hard Boiled Eggs. Even soymilk! Fresh fruits and yogurts and you really have a great start. Easy on/off freeway access. To that end, there is Coyote Junction Mexican in the lot. Other than that you will have to leave the property as there is nothing within walking distance. except the mini mart at the gas station and a Stonebrook coffee shop a short walk to the north.
A 5 minute drive gets you to Old Town Sac with its historic old buildings and little shops. Not much dinner fare there. Mostly breakfast and lunch. Downtown is on the other side of the freeway and gives you more dining options for dinner. It was the only hotel in the area with a jacuzzi. I loved this location. Next time I'll make sure I have my beach chairs so I can go and sit and look at the boats and enjoy the wonderful scenery of this locale. Ask for a room that faces the riverwalk. You look out the window and all you see are trees and the locals enjoying the great outdoors. I am looking forward to getting back there just to explore more of Sacramento.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Best place to stay is on the backside, upstairs, view of the river trail and maybe a little river. This was about our fourth stay here, best for the money in Sac.
Clean, quiet and comfortable, great wireless internet.
Forget the mex. restaurant in the parking lot. First they thought the could get away with giving me no change, then shortchanged me. Mediocre food and they got no tip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.