We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, Yum, So Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
2431 J St, Sacramento, CA 95816
+1 916-442-7690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,804 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Thai Basil has been Voted Best Thai Food in Sacramento area every yearesince 2001 by Sac. Mag. and SN&R's reader's choice award.Features house made curries, fresh noodles and signature cocktails.Large selections for Vegan and Gluten free optionsAt Thai Basil, we’re committed to bringing you fresh, authentic and great tasting Thai food you can trust. Our menu is made from high quality ingredients from local vendors and home made sauces. Our mission: is to consistently deliver the BEST Thai food with friendly service every day
McKinleyville, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, So Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have had the pleasure of frequenting this restaurant when I am in Sacramento. It gets great marks and deserves them. Small and unassuming, the smells hit your senses as soon as you walk into the door (maybe even outside the restaurant). The menu has very good variety and it's all so yum, yum, yum. I had the papaya salad this time which was spicey and refreshing. Along with the mussels dish, I felt like I had feasted. My friends who live in Sacramento love the green curry, and I also like the egg plant dish. The people serving are friendly and helpful, and the food comes quickly. Don't miss this place if you like Thai food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This little gem of a restaurant is located in midtown sacramento. I tried it recently on a weeknight and enjoyed it. I had the red curry chicken. Nice portion size with plenty of sauce. Nice assortment of veggies. Reasonable prices. They have a patio outside which added to the pleasure of the dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best quality Thai food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Everything is made to order with fresh quality ingredients that you can taste. Average entrees price are $8.50 for lunch and $12 for dinner, the portion is just right: 2 entrees for two persons and still some left to take home. Good value for your money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“restaurant is typical Thai, food is good, located in Art district of Sac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

love the food, I felt like I ate home-cooked hearty meal but with great table service. it is typical Thai restaurant in ambiance and appears to have good local following. Will definitely go again for some good food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good Thai for Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have also travelled to Thailand for almost 30 years.Thai Basil exceeded my expectations.Very authentic Thai food considering the limitations of Sacramento.You cannot duplicate the food from Thailand,but Thai Basil does an excellent job.It is a relief to taste quality ingrediants and food.We all know the abundance garbage Chinese restaurants in Sacramento.So,this place is a great alternative to all that insanity.I highly recommend Thai Basil.Try the (spicy)green papaya salad and sticky rice(what many Thai locals eat).

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.