We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Parkside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Parkside to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Parkside
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2116 Sixth St, Sacramento, CA 95818   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My Husband and I came to the Inn for 2 nights to celebrate our 22nd Anniversary. From the reservation to the check in to the check out, the concierge was extremely friendly and accommodating. She treated us like valued family. We stayed in The Refresh room and it was beautiful and inviting and very clean. The bed was comfy. The breakfasts were yummy and perfect sized portions. We had a couples massage and it was the best and most relaxing massage I have ever had. Overall wonderful mini vacation! We will definitely be coming back again and again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    19
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic getaway not to far from home to celebrate the one year anniversary of our relationship. We stayed in the refresh room, it was absolutely amazing from its balcony with a view of the park to the corner jacuzzi tub in the room. We treated ourselves to a couples retreat spa package and it was just lovely. The massage therapists Karessa and Michael were very excellent, best massages we have ever had. The breakfast was delivered to our room and the food was delicious. I will definitely be returning to the Inn in the near future. I will be recommending the Inn and Spa at Parkside to all of my family and friends. Thank you to the staff who made this stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Inn and Spa at Parkside, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always enjoy hearing customer feedback. We are so happy that we could make your stay memorable. We strive to make sure that each of guests have a pleasant experience. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "Happiness" room at this Bed and Breakfast for our anniversary. When we checked in the conceirge was very friendly and attentive. She showed us to our room, which was decorated beautifully. A jacuzzi tub, double headed shower and fireplace in the bathroom made this room very romantic. We also had a fireplace in the room itself. The room was clean, roomy and overall more than I had imagined it to be. The only thing I had a problem with was the low ceilings since the room was in the attic of the house and the biggest window in the room was stain glassed window over the tub. We did have two skylights in the bedroom and two in the bathroom, but no view. We had chocolate strawberries waiting for us. The room was perfect for a romantic and relaxing evening. We also had a couple's massage, which was the best massage I have had ever. Very relaxing. Breakfast was delicious, which consisted of small portion of fresh fruit, apple cobbler, bacon, french toast with carmalized peaches, coffee and orange juice. The portions were a bit small, but just right. Again staff was very attentive when I mentioned that I was diabetic and the giving the fact that breakfast would send me into sugar shock I was offered eggs instead. I would definately recommend this inn to my friends and family who are looking for a romantic getaway close to home. We plan on going back again.

Room Tip: The Happiness room as we were told is the biggest room and the only room that has a fireplace in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Parkside, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always enjoy hearing our customers input either good or bad. your business is important to us and we are so glad that the room offered you the romantic atmosphere that you were looking for. The ceilings in the Happiness room are very low in places we normally warn people upon check in and at the time that we book their room. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

They need to pay more attention to customer complaints, and fix the problems if they want to stay on bed&breakfast business.
1) AC was not working in one of the hottest day in Sacremento. It was 107degrees. I complained 3 times and they didnt do anything. we opened the windows and Luckily at night we had some breeze. But this made the room noisy.
2) pay attention to details. Clocks in the room were showing two different time. Remote controller was broken, jakuzi faucet for cold water was broken. No hair dryer in the room.Even the pen in the room to write a review was not working... Come on these are easy things to fix...
3) breakfast was like a joke. They served few slices of fruit, a tiny cinnamon roll, and a savory bread pudding which was also tiny. I am a small person and it wasn't even enough for me. They definitely need to improve their breakfast option.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Inn and Spa at Parkside, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
As we understand that guest reviews are the best way for us to grow as a company and we are very appreciative of the comments even if they may be negative. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory and we are continuing to strive to create an outstanding guest experience with every stay. As i understand that you were here on the hottest day of the year and the air conditioning was not working, which I am sure you would have been more understanding of if the customer service side was handled differently. The issue with the a/c unit was caused by the temperature being lowered too low which caused the coil to freeze and we had to have a repair company come out and repair the unit the following day. As far as the breakfast goes we have a new chef and he is trying very hard to create new menu items that will be more satisfying. The small details that you mention have also been addressed as we are sincerely trying to make every stay the best it could possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bayarea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We checked in on a Thursday for a quiet night away for my wife and I. We stayed in the room called DREAM. It's on the third floor and very private with a nice sized jacuzzi tub in the room and a multihead shower in the oversized bathroom. Plus a fireplace for that romantic charm. WiFi was unsecured and slow, but that's what smartphones are for now. I'd give this room and boutique B&B a 97 out of 100. Knocking 3 points off only for some needed cosmetic repairs, (fill old screw holes in the walls, touch up paint here and there, missing HDMI cable from DVD player to TV) Our room was as we expected, beautifully equiped and two extra fluffy robes waiting for us on the bed. They even brought us some chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling cider to our room. Breakfast was way over the top. We chose to have it delivered to our room and it came right on time and piping hot too, a gourmet breakfast with OJ and coffee, muffin with caramel sauce, fresh fruit, and an egg, potato, mushroom dish that was out of this world. You are close enough to Old Towne and Downtown so that you aren't driving forever to get some place, but far enough away to avoid the traffic. We'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room was nice and the bed very comfortable but many small things added up to not the best of experiences. Remotes did not work and nothing to tell how to use them. The two internet wireless mentioned in the binder - neither exist. No bath mat. No hair dryer. Had breakfast in the dining room. Food was really good and just right amount but...after spending $200+, no half and half for coffee! Just milk. Employee - possibly manager - was walking around in a parka and pj's underneath and slippers while we ate!! Just not the experience that we have had in the past at other establishments. Wish I had checked it out here before making the reservation!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Inn and Spa at Parkside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We appreciate all guest reviews and take them to heart as we are striving to make each stay an amazing experience. We are working on getting the little things fixed that can make a huge difference. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the dream room this was our second time the first was great since new management took over the place has been let go the room was terrible. First the plug had no cover and it was in plan sight. The curtain rod was falling off the wall. Stains on the comforter and pillows. The room should have had robes, they were not there. Tried to call the front desk twice with no answer. Also added a spa package to the reservation, it was not set up they had to try to get 2 therapists in but could only get one to agree to come in. It should have been a couples massage. At check in the front desk was rude and tried to blame me for the spa package for not being set up. This was the last time I will stay at the inn. It is a shame it use to be a great place, but it is now an over priced place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Inn and Spa at Parkside, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I am terribly sorry to read your review and to see that you were treated so poorly. It is our goal to make sure that every guest has the best experience possible. We have been working very hard to improve the level of customer service, and to create a better more caring environment for our staff and guests. We are pleased to say that several things have changed at the Inn in the past few months. As of February 1st we have a new management team in place, have hired a few new staff members and have been working very hard on fixing the little things around the Inn that had been neglected for so long. This is an ongoing process and we will continue to improve on the little things until every guest has a spectacular experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn and Spa at Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Parkside

Address: 2116 Sixth St, Sacramento, CA 95818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Parkside 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Parkside bed and breakfast is an urban oasis of relaxation and renewal. Ideally located for business and pleasure, this chic and elegant bed and breakfast mansion. From the moment you enter the inn, the urban world of chaos is left behind. Calmness permeates you, enhanced by the seamless blend of Eastern and Western instrumentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn and Spa at Parkside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Parkside Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn and Spa at Parkside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.