We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Merced, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a wonderful stay! We stayed in the Longfellow room and it was charming, clean, and sweet! I love the old timey charm with modern conveniences! They serve you a WONDERFUL breakfast included in the price and also will serve you complimentary chocolate chip cookies at night!!! We had chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room for an extra fee and they were delicious. Staff was so warm and welcoming, it felt very private (although I know other guests were there), and the house is simply beautiful! My boyfriend had a message in the morning that was also fantastic!!! I would recommended this a thousand times over, and I was sad we only had 1 night there. We also got a great deal on the room, which was nice. :) It's great that the location was so close to downtown and all our activities. Might I recommend you taking a class with GirlGlass where you can make your own paperweights in glass or make your own glass ornaments? This hotel is really close to the studio. The surrounding area is "safe" but it is downtown Sacramento, I'm just glad my bf was with me to walk around at night. My bf also found this great tiny sushi restaurant that we walked to from the amber house that for the life of me I can't remember the name :( But it was delicious!! Point is, stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed! :D

Room Tip: You can pick your room so look at the pics on their website first :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    13
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
96
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Judith and staff were welcoming, kind, and sincere. They made our stay a home-like experience. We chose the Vivaldi room with spa tub, shower, and private sundeck. Chocolate dipped strawberries, champagne and a couples massage are recommended. The main Amber House is a beautifully restored Craftsman style home. It was nice to sit on the porch or in the main living room near the fireplace. After visiting friends and family, it was nice to come home to a relaxing environment on a quiet street. This location is close to great restaurants and pubs in the Midtown Sacramento area. Walkable score is high as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Amber House was warm and welcoming with highly professional hosts. We arrived at this beautifully restored and appointed Craftsman house mid morning, too early to check in, from a very long train journey. We were given iced water and freshly squeezed orange Joyce and left our bags there. No kitsch here! The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, immaculately clean and luxuriously comfortable. The staff and proprietor were welcoming, informative and helpful. Coffee and fresh orange juice were outside our room first thing, and we breakfasted on the verandah with hummingbirds feeding right beside us. Served on a white linen tablecloth, breakfast was sumptuous: more freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit with cereal and an imaginative and delicious version of French Toast. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and tree lined, yet just a short walk from the Capitol and the excellent Crocker Art Museum.
We plan to return to this delightful B&B very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here twice, once in September 2011 and again this year. Love the warm, personalized service, hot coffee waiting outside our door in the morning, wonderful breakfasts, and informed recommendations for things to do and places to eat in the area. Also love the location in a highly “walkable” neighborhood of tall trees and restored craftsman homes. And, if you’re willing to venture out, it’s not too hard to walk toward the river to visit the state capitol (docent-led tours are wonderfully interesting), the California State Railroad Museum (absolutely fascinating), and Crocker Art Museum (“first art museum in the West”). We’ll continue to stay here whenever we’re in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked a room at Amber House with short notice. Not only was there a clean and comfortable room available, but we could not have been treated with greater courtesy and care. The house is a very nicely maintained classic Craftsman style home that is operated as a B&B by true professionals. They clearly cater not only to tourists like us, but also to those who visit Sacramento regularly, and who want something other than a commercial hotel experience. We received excellent advice on what to see and where to eat in Sacramento, cookies in the evening, and coffee delivered to our room in the morning! We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wordsworth Room, which has lots of light and is clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway for our anniversary and stumbled upon reviews of the Amber House. After reading great reviews, I booked a room online. We were welcomed a check in and showed to our very comfortable room. The staff and innkeepers were so considerate and courteous, and the breakfast the next morning was amazing!! We will surely come back for our anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I loved staying here-it was so romantic, the breakfast was delicious, and we loved the two-person tub! Driving through downtown Sac was difficult, but we loved every other aspect, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, eight blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.