We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here twice, once in September 2011 and again this year. Love the warm, personalized service, hot coffee waiting outside our door in the morning, wonderful breakfasts, and informed recommendations for things to do and places to eat in the area. Also love the location in a highly “walkable” neighborhood of tall trees and restored craftsman homes. And, if you’re willing to venture out, it’s not too hard to walk toward the river to visit the state capitol (docent-led tours are wonderfully interesting), the California State Railroad Museum (absolutely fascinating), and Crocker Art Museum (“first art museum in the West”). We’ll continue to stay here whenever we’re in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    12
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
94
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked a room at Amber House with short notice. Not only was there a clean and comfortable room available, but we could not have been treated with greater courtesy and care. The house is a very nicely maintained classic Craftsman style home that is operated as a B&B by true professionals. They clearly cater not only to tourists like us, but also to those who visit Sacramento regularly, and who want something other than a commercial hotel experience. We received excellent advice on what to see and where to eat in Sacramento, cookies in the evening, and coffee delivered to our room in the morning! We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wordsworth Room, which has lots of light and is clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway for our anniversary and stumbled upon reviews of the Amber House. After reading great reviews, I booked a room online. We were welcomed a check in and showed to our very comfortable room. The staff and innkeepers were so considerate and courteous, and the breakfast the next morning was amazing!! We will surely come back for our anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I loved staying here-it was so romantic, the breakfast was delicious, and we loved the two-person tub! Driving through downtown Sac was difficult, but we loved every other aspect, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to take my wife for a nice get away for the weekend. Was looking in napa area for spa/b&b they where way over priced. Seen a review of amber house and booked online at 11ocolck at night for the next day. Received a call the next morning form one of the lovely owners confirming my reservations. She set up everything perfectly. She told me of a great place to get lunch before checking in. We had lunch went to check in. We where seated in the main house offered drinks and where greeted by one of there staff. Spoke with her and she showed us to our room. There she had prepared doz long stem roses in a romantic set room very clean with the Victorian feel of mid town sac. About an hr after arriving there was a knock on our door. Two massage therapist greeted us set up beds turned on relaxing music and gave us wonderful massages. It was a guy and girl they where both very professional and polite. After that we headed down to a very nice restaurant recommendations of the owner. Had a great dinner tried new foods had champagne all within walking distance. When we arrived back to our room they had layed out rose peddles in a Hart shape on the bed and along the floor to the jacuzzi tube with candles lit around it. They had chocolate covered strawberries with a bottle of champagne and apple cider on ice set up as well. The next morning we where served a breakfast very fresh very good out on the patio area. My wife was very pleased with evrything she still thanks me today about it and its 3 weeks later. I was happy because it was all so easy they took care of everything and had a real attention to detail. Id give this place 6 stars if I could and we've stayed at some very nice places.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The room we wanted was booked so i called and they recommended a similar room which we loved! Amber house cares for every detail and the breakfast out on our private porch was a perfect!! Thank you and we will be back~!!

Room Tip: there are two rooms with private porches...worth the upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The Amber House makes you feel at home right from the start. The staff is excellent and you will love the breakfast! Another plus is the location – quiet enough but also very close to great restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, eight blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.