We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Oakland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We lucked out on a recent spur of the moment overnight in Sacramento when we found a room at Amber House. This gem of a B and B offers everything you want, and more. It's charming, beautiful, well-situated, and welcoming. We loved the porch for a glass of wine after dinner, and for a delicious breakfast in the morning. The bed in our room (Wordsworth) was superf comfy, as were the robes and other deluxe amenities. The owner and her staff take great care of their guests, and we left knowing that we'll be back, hopefully soon. Oh, and we also enjoyed "Second Saturday," a monthly art event only a few blocks from Amber House.

Room Tip: All rooms look great, but Wordsworth has a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    13
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
95
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winters CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got the chance to stay last nite at the Amber House after attending a neighborhood event. I highly recommend this place as a romantic getaway. Has all the amenities, wonderful breakfast, and friendly guests! Within walking distance of lots of clubs and restaraunts in midtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved staying at the Amber House again - have stayed with them several times. Great staff, great location, great service! Love the cookies!!! Much better then a regular hotel! Breakfast is always wonderful - fresh and healthy. Enjoy a glass of wine on the porch or reading room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Amber House Inn is my new favorite place to stay in Sacramento. First, the charm: graciously decorated (and grandma's-white glove-immaculately-clean) rooms are named for poets: Emily Dickinson, Longfellow, Wordsworth. Several of the bathrooms have vintage soaking tubs as well as showers. The porch, morning room, and other common areas are elegant, intimate spaces--you can find a quiet place to work on your laptop or chat with new acquaintances. The staff is friendly and attentive to making your stay a memorable experience--they even leave chocolate chip cookies in your room while you are out at dinner. The delightful breakfast (seasonal fruit salad, omelette with cheese, spinach and herbs from the garden, etc.) is served when and where you'd like it, with fresh flowers poking out of the napkin ring.
Now, the convenience: the inn will arrange for a driver to take you to and from the airport; the charge (rather less than a taxi for the same distance!) is simply added to the bill. Amber House is also situated close to numerous restaurants of all kinds and levels of fanciness, from brewpubs to bistros. Wifi is free and available throughout the house (including the porch).
My favorite feature, however, is both charming and convenient: a "tea tray" at your door when you awaken. Usually, my first question whenever I check into a hotel is, "Where can I find coffee and how early can I get it?" At Amber House, I peeped outside my door at around 6:30 and found a generous carafe of coffee alongside my name written on a porcelain place card. I was able to sip my coffee and do a little yoga before my chosen breakfast time a couple of hours later.
My trip was for business, but I would recommend Amber House equally for a romantic getaway. You will not be disappointed. I almost hesitate to share this review on top of so many other glowing recommendations, for fear I'll never be able to get a room again!

Room Tip: Do look at the photos on the website, as each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Amber House staff treated us excellently, the location is perfectly quiet and secluded feeling even though it is within walking distance of most of the downtown area, and we were so comfortable! We really enjoyed the reading room, the evening beverage and cookie service, and the delicious breakfast served course by course.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First off i will say that my wife loved this place and thinks it was worth the money, so that is what really counts since we went here for her. I really enjoyed the room. We had a really nice Jacuzzi, in the room. There was alot of room in the bathroom. The main bedroom was really small but i guess that is to be expected. The door had to have two deadbolts because otherwise it wouldn't stay shut. I loved the breakfast, it was the most fancy one i have ever had.

Over all it was pretty good. I am not sure it is worth the prices we paid for it. They had alot of extra benefits that they offers such as turn down service. We didnt get that or some of the other amenities. I think i may have been to red-neck for this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad that your wife, especially, and you enjoyed your stay. You are certainly not "too red-neck" for Amber House. We do offer many services for our guests, many of which are long forgotten in mainstream hospitality these days. We discuss all of these options during check-in but will endeavor to provide more information about some of the less common services so that all of our guests can take advantage of the pampering available at Amber House. Everyone, including you, deserves all that we can offer during your stay at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Never stayed here before. Will always stay here going forward. Centrally located, innocuously perched in a quiet and safe neighborhood. I would think that there are more than twenty + restaurants within a five block radius, safe and secure for walking. Less than .8 mile from Capitol Square. A staff that has only your comfort in mind. A breakfast to die for in any number of combinations, served outside on the porch, inside or in your room. A very affordable and delicious wine list. Brandy in a wonderful decanter for that nice late night sip on the porch. Rooms that are accommodating, spacious baths, and daily room service. Judith, Carol, Dianna and everyone else just want to ensure that you have a grand time.

Room Tip: If you enjoy walking, if you enjoy being assimilated into a neighborhood, if you enjoy a great and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, eight blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.