We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 12 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Redding, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I on a whim decided to travel from Redding to Sacramento to catch an IMAX movie and go to IKEA. We found the Amber House online and scheduled visit in the Lord Byron room. To say we were impressed was an understatement. I had ordered rose pedals (synthetic) and incredible chocolate dipped strawberries as a surprise and my wife just lit up when we walked in the room. The bed was very comfortable as was the in room spa for 2. They offer top of the line skin and hair products in case you didn't bring your own. We were within walking distance (1 mile) from the IMAX. I would highly recommend the Amber House and it will be one of our new "cool places to go in Sacramento."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    12
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
94
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time ever staying at a Bed and breakfast before and me and my partner loved the 5 star accommodation we received from the minuet we arrived till the second we left. The staff is amazing. Having a fireplace was the icing on the cake!! The sweet surprise that we encountered when we where upgraded made the occasion that much sweeter.

Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have to fly up to sacto for work; for just a couple of days? Ug only good part is staying at the Amber House. CLEAN, georgous rooms, fabulous beds: antique bathtubs and yummy breakfast served in bedroom! Doesnt get much better. Ez walk to capitol and all state offices; several great restaurants within a few blocks for dinner such as Urban Jacks and Waterboy even a small market for stuff you cant carry on plane anymore. Really is the best part of my business trips to Sacto. Did i mention Egyptian cotton sheets and comforters?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The wife and I are in business together and came to Sacramento to see our print facility on a Monday. We decided to try the Amber House B&B since it was really close to our facility and other attractions in Sacramento.

I've never stayed at a B&B until this visit and no had expectations of what I'd experience trying out this type of stay. When we arrived, it was like walking into a very large house that was well-groomed and classy. After checking in, we went to locate our Mozart room located in their second house across the street.

As my wife opened the door and stepped into the room, I could tell she loved what she saw. Beautiful antique furniture that complemented the hardwood floors. The fireplace presented a classic look and warmed the room perfectly. As my wife looked towards the side the bed was on, she saw rose pedals draped around the bed with a heart-shaped outline of pedals on the bed. Just when the wife didn't believe it could get any better, we opened the door to the bathroom. Beautifully lined marble floors covered the large area. The heart-shaped jacuzzi was a big plus for our trip. We soaked in it for quite a long time that evening.

The topper was the bucket with Chardonnay wined chilled to perfection, sitting along side of the chocolate-covered strawberries. What made this trip worth its weight in gold was also the bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and we woke extremely refreshed. Then, the Amber House delivered a huge breakfast to our room. They served grape fruit, bacon, and french toast in large proportions.

One of the other benefits to the Amber House was the location. The B&B is located about 1 mile from the Capitol. We went there Sunday night and got to peak in the windows and take pictures of how the architecture looks incredible with all the lighting from inside the building.

In conclusion, make no other reservations in Sacramento unless it involves the Amber House.

Room Tip: MOZART room provided the most comfort features
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

On the plus side, the staff were extremely helpful both before and during our stay, holding a parcel that arrived before us, allowing us to arrive late at night after normal check-in time (by way of a key in a lockbox with combination lock), printing Amtrak tickets e-mailed to them and looking after our bags on our last day. The neighbourhood is delightful (and quiet), allowing us to indulge in our favourite pastime of walking and photographing lovely old houses, as well as stocking up on provisions at the nearby supermarket, and walking to restaurants, the light rail etc.
On the minus side, our bed (in the Brahms Room) was not the best to sleep in as when either of us rolled over, got up or returned to bed, the movement of the bed woke the other. The shower took forever to yield hot water in the evenings although was quicker in the mornings. While some bottled water and glasses in the room was a nice touch when we arrived, and the complimentary drinks service to our room was much appreciated, the glasses kept disappearing which meant we couldn’t rehydrate as often as we would like. While the breakfasts were creative, the mixture of croissant, quiche and potatoes on our second morning was rather carbohydrate-rich and the Eggs Benedict on our last morning were leathery with solid yolks. We asked for honey with our coffee but the honey sticks were tricky to get the honey out of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two sisters that needed a weekend away from husbands, family, and chaos, that was us. We found serenity and had a lovely weekend at Amber House. We stayed in the Beethoven room and it was very comfortable. The queen size mattress was SO comfortable, that we are looking for the same memory foam topper for our beds at home. From chocolate cookies and tea delivered to our door to the breakfast, the food was great!. One morning we had breakfast in the room, the next morning we ate inside at the house across the street and it was delightful. We walked and shopped all around Sacramento which was what we had in mind. We attended the Sacramento Ballet and the B Street theatre, both within a very short driving distance. The jacuzzi tub felt so good after our shopping days.
These are old victorian homes, so don't expect the amenities to equal a modern hotel. But for a wonderful turn-of-the-century B&B experience with pampering, we recommend the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

lovely service, great location, yummy breakfast on porch, jacuzzi bathtub. pretty perfect for 1 night of relaxing! it started with a full on questionnaire/interview about turndown service, freshbaked cookies for nightcap, breakfast desires, morning coffee wishes. we were upgraded because the room selected the folks wanted to stay another night so that was a good deal. it was quiet but didn't feel uncomfortably so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1315 22nd Street, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, eight blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Sacramento
Amber House b&b Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;