We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location - Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location - Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at the Residence Inn while attending a convention at the nearby Sacramento Convention Center and we were quite impressed. I have stayed extensively at Marriott hotels throughout the country and this met or exceeded my expectations.


LOCATION: Overall, the location was outstanding. It is a short block from the Capitol building and convention center and within very easy walking distance of an array of interesting restaurants and shops. It is next door to a parking garage for easy (but expensive - $17 a day) parking. In fact, if you are doing everything within the downtown area you may be able to walk exclusively.

ROOM: The one bedroom suite was exceptionally clean and well-appointed. The hotel has a very new feeling to it and the hotel room gave off a very new and clean feel. The kitchen (with granite and stainless steel) was a nice touch. Overall the room is a bit small for a Residence Inn but for two people it shouldn't be an issue. The free breakfast provided in the lobby was one of the better that I've had staying at the Residence Inn. It had a solid selection of hot foods (eggs, waffles, biscuits, oatmeal) and also a good selection of cold cereals, juices, yogurt etc.

OVERALL: Overall we found the staff, room and hotel to be great. We also stayed there on a very fair rate (booked two months in advance for $84 a night over the weekend). Given its location downtown it seemed like everything you needed was right there. My only caution would be the relatively high parking rates of $17 for self-parking and $20 for valet per night. I did not explore to see what the rate would be at other locations nearby but It was a bit high given the relatively low price on the room rate. We would stay here again. It has a small but functional gym and four computers in a small business center that abuts the lobby. The computer usage is free.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    95
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
60
34
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

I wrote a not so glowing report about our September visit saying I wouldn't stay here again. Well here we are. I decided I should try and compare.
I am sitting at one of the available computers, killing time / working/ waiting for a business meeting to get out. I am very grateful for these.
Yes, we decided to go with the familiar BUT to upgrade to a 1 bedroom unit instead of a studio.
Here is the difference: a few feet, if any. It is the same plan with a slight variation. There is a wall with a door. On either side of the wall is a lcd tv on a narrow table. This made all the difference in how crowded the room was. There was a space to actually put something on the floor...like luggage! The studio had a very wide large "island" with a swivel TV. It took up much more floor space.
Still 1 sink, still the same hard uncomfortable couch. Still the ac/heat vent blowing on your head in bed (someone else mentioned it) I didn't like the draft with ac or heat.

Breakfast was still good.
Parking is still a peeve with me. Hotel parking is on the assigned top (5,6,7th) floors. We waited for the elevator, only to find out that the elevator is broken. "oh well" was the attitude from garage attendant and front desk. There was no sign even stating such as my husband strongly suggested there should be as you wait and wait and wait...
Not bad going down, but going up? And what about those unable to do so? Valet, I guess, but those are on the low level. Mostly we were annoyed because they don't mention it to those checking in. They just find out when they get to the top.
nyway, the point wasn't to gripe, but beware if you aren't able to climb stairs.
BTW, the shower water is great.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a family of 3. It was a little small for 3 people since there wasn't enough space for luggage, and the sleeper sofa was not a good second bed (it was a sleeper sofa).

Location was nice since it allowed us to walk around downtown, and to a nice nearby restaurant. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Below is the text of the letter we sent to the general manager, the corporate office, the Sacramento chamber of commerce and convention bureau, AAA, and Trip Advisor. As you can see, we were never able to experience the amenities of this property. We were bumped.

--------------------------

On September 8, 2008 we secured a one-night reservation (AAA rate – No. 80138652) for Friday night, October 10 at your property. This was our final night of our vacation and we were looking forward to a comfortable room in downtown Sacramento where we could relax, walk to a fine dinner and see the Capitol area.

On October 5 we received an email for your organization confirming the reservation and stating “we’re excited you’ll be visiting and are preparing for” our stay.

On our arrival date, we drove in from the Metolius area of Oregon (no cell phone or internet service), walked into your lobby and were informed that there was “no room for us at the inn.” We were flabbergasted. When we asked why, we were told that former customers had decided to stay longer; therefore, no room for us. You would provide us with another complimentary room at another Marriott property in the Sacramento area.

We did not want to drive hither and yon to just get a “free” room in a hotel at a less-favorable location. We left and drove another eight hours to our home in the San Diego area. If we had wanted any old room to crash in, we would have originally booked a different room at a different hotel – and certainly not in the downtown area.

We are utterly disappointed with our Marriott experience. Why should we make a “guaranteed” reservation if the hotel is not going to honor it? When we make a reservation, we give you our personal credit card to guarantee a room and a rate. If we need to cancel that room, we are required to do it within a certain time period or be billed. So please, tell us why a customer who decides on whim to stay an extra night or two should not be told “sorry, we have already reserved this room for another client.”

Our friends and coworkers were equally flabbergasted when told our story. No one has ever heard of such a thing. Is this your standard policy? If it is, we will certainly inform those we know personally and professionally so that they avoid risking their valuable business or vacation time in one of your properties.

Our days of regarding Marriott as a respected hotel property are over. Our future vacations will be spent at other hotels where the term “hospitality” actually means something.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Being bumped
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn for 5 nights on business travel. I was pleasantly surprised to check into a spacious, well accommodated 1bedroom suite. The bed was comfortable (with lots of pillows) and the flat screen tvs were great. I was told breakfast is served downstairs in the a.m. and was expecting something like muffins and juice. What I had was eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh breads and make-your-own waffles, as well as every cereal imaginable and 'real' oatmeal. Everytime I came back to the hotel, I was greeted with a "welcome back" by the front desk. I WILL stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — full kitchen in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I stayed one night at the Residence Inn at Capitol Park in early September, 2008. This is a brand new property--only open a few months and looks and feels new in every way. Quite different from the usual suburban Residence Inn--15 stories with an adjacent parking garage. Compact rooms of higher quality construction. Excellent location at 15th & L, diagonally across from Capitol Park.

I had a one bedroom with a king bed in a separate room just large enough to walk around the bed on 3 sides. The sitting room, which had a sofa bed and one upholstered chair, also was smaller than in the usual Residence Inn, with a full kitchen in one corner. Small eating table for two in addition to a desk. Two TVs, both flat panel, larger one in sitting room. Good TV reception and fairly good channel selection. Only one thermostat (in bedroom) that didn't seem to influence room temperature much. Central air conditioning was powerful and slightly noisy. When it got too cold, I had to turn off the air. Only one wastebasket--perhaps an oversight by the maid. Good showerhead over tub with adequate hot water. My room was very quiet except for dumpster emptying at 5 am. Room lighting and counter space at bath sink were both adequate.

Parking cost $24 for valet (plus tips) or $17 for self-parking. To self-park you have to go way up, round and round, to reach the designated area.

Above average selection at complimentary breakfast except eggs and sausages were of low quality. Breakfast seating was adequate between 8:30 & 9 on Monday morning, but hotel probably was at low occupancy.

Four computers and two printers next to the breakfast room. Cold air comes down on your neck while using any of the computers. The computers are on a slow server.

All in all, my stay was satisfactory, but unexciting. Nicest aspect was that everything was new.

  • Liked — It's new
  • Disliked — Ineffective thermostat, poor eggs & sausage
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We had the two bedroom two bath suite for one night, fantastic. Big window overlooking capital, beautifully furnished. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Only weird thing was the ice maker in the fridge didn't work very well and was turned off when we got there. I found out the reason later on that night when it finally made a batch of ice and it landed with a loud crash into the bin. I got out of bed and quickly turned that off. Staff was pleasant and very helpful.

  • Liked — two bedroom, two bath (hard to find that combination)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Address: 1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's only Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.