We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost gets it right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park to your Saves list
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Rome
1 review
“almost gets it right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

I'm staying here for 3 months and am finding the staff to be very helpful and generous with their time. The hotel is designed to be fairly classy. The general demographic of the guests doesn't seem to fit the look or marketing of the hotel: for a business/residence hotel, there seem to be LOTS of young families and groups of college-aged students. Be prepared for noise and paper-thin walls.
Don't be fooled by the advertising of the rooms being "suites." They are VERY small rooms with lots of furniture. There is barely room to unpack. Nor is there really "high speed" internet for free in the rooms. Don't plan on doing using the free internet for much more work than checking your email. Many reviewers have complained about the air blasting on the beds: true, but you get used to it. The oddest thing is the cable provider (Lodgenet/Direct TV) they will not provide a TV listing channel, nor do their programs/times match any tv guides (newspaper/online) This is their way of making you buy pay-per-view movies. (this isn't the hotel's fault...blame Lodgenet)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms, noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    104
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
68
37
33
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

The room was clean, well furnished and decorated, and the location cannot be beat, but the best part of this stay was the staff. I give them high marks for their professionalism and their willingness to offer help and assistance at every turn. I've stayed at more expensive hotels and resorts over the years, but this is the first time I've been inclined to send an email to the owners, i.e. Marriott, to complement them on their staff. My only negative for this hotel is the location of the pool. The tower of rooms blocks the sun from the pool area after about 2 p.m., so you have to get out there prior to that to lay in the sun. (This was in May, so it will obviously change during other times of the year.)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

I was in Sacramento during the annual jazz festival. The hotel, surprisingly, gave me a weekend rate of $139 per night. I didn't think that price could be beat.

The hotel, as others have said, is right downtown near all the activity. It is a pleasure to walk around in the rose garden and the park surrounding the State Capitol grounds. There are lots of eateries and restaurants located in the area and further down "J" Street. Old Sacramento is also nearby.

The hotel itself is clean with a helpful staff. Beds are comfortable, and the noise level was minimal. There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi located in the hotel's courtyard. The lounge and restaurant served good drinks and food during happy hour.

The only thing that gave us some problems was locating the hotel parking lot. The hotel leases the 5th level of a public lot, and you need to check in, get your pass, and then drive into the parking lot.

Overall, this is a great place to stay and will consider it again if in Sacramento.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Parking lot
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranch San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Was in Sac. on business. Great location for Capitol business. This is an excellent hotel. I was there for only one night but couldn't have asked for more. My only complaint was that I had to turn off the A/C while I slept as the register was aimed at the headboard of the bed. Bad design. Fortunately, the A/C ran while I was out to dinner and I managed without it for the few hours I slept. If you had to sleep during the day, this would not be acceptable. Although one lobby employee couldn't provide any information on an airport shuttle, the ladies at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — Location and condition of the facility
  • Disliked — Air Condition register aimed at headboard
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Had business just adjacent to the State Capitol and chose this hotel. The location cannot be beat. The Capitol grounds are right across the street, and the Capitol itself is about a 5-10 walk. The Appellate Court is at the other end of the park, but still walkable (although in heels it would be a long walk : ).) I had a studio room at abou $138 a night. They charge you extra for parking ($17). I didn't like that, but this is standard operating procedure these days and the parking structure was convenient, with full in and out privileges. Please note that if you have a rental car with GPS, you will want to use the address for the garage (1500 K). The address for the hotel seems to lead to the wrong place. Don't know why. Anyway, what impressed me most about my room (not necessarily of the hotel) was the decor. It is colorful, well conceived, and very tasteful. Everything is very functional for a home away from home. The kitchenette is gorgeous with the requisite granite countertops and stainless appliances, and all implements necessary to make a meal if you choose to do that. I loved the bed. High thread count on the sheets and pillow cases. The bed was firm, but that's the way I like it. Television was wide screen and swiviled so you could see it anywhere in the room. All that was missing was an IPOD machine so you could plug in your IPOD. Clock radio was on the night stand (sound quality strictly "motel").

Room has individual heat and air so you will be very comfortable. I found the room a little stuffy, because I require a constant airflow, but the temperature was perfect. I appear to be the only man on earth who wants hotel windows to OPEN. These do not.

Free breakfast downstairs and plenty of daily newspapers in the lounge area. Hotel staff was obviously well trained and extraordinarily gracious. Obvious corporate culture. For a short stay, the room amenities are probably more than you need. But if you are in Sacramento for more than a few days and have business near the Capitol, this is a great choice.

  • Liked — The decor and the location.
  • Disliked — The fact that the windows do not open.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I was in a 1-bedroom suite for 4 nights, and it was mostly nice. Everything seemed to be pretty new and clean. The desk chair was pretty comfy, and the wireless internet worked fine. I love that you can get fresh fruit (apples, oranges, and maybe bananas) any time from the front desk - and that you have a cutting board, knife, and plate to eat it. I also liked being able to grab breakfast before heading out for the day. As other reviews have noted, there's a decent selection of hot foods (eggs, sausage/bacon, oatmeal, make your own waffles, and a rotating starch selection - pancakes, French toast, potatoes, etc.) and cold (yogurt, fruit, ceral).

I also used the gym, which seemed to be in good shape. I think it had 3 elliptical machines, 2 treadmills, a bike, and one weight machine. I went around 7AM one day and 5PM another, and only saw a few other people - there were always machines open.

So why only 3 stars? Well, I was there for a conference, and had gotten a confirmation email that, if available, I would have a 1BR suite for $139/nt. I didn't notice until the second day I was there that the rate they were giving me was $149/nt. I showed the manager the confirmation email and asked for the stated rate. First he said that the rate was for *single occupancy*. When I pointed out that I was the only one in the room, he said that the rate was for a studio. When I pointed out that the confirmation email specified a 1BR suite, he thought for a minute and said that the email might be from the conference, rather than the hotel, so there was no guarantee of that rate - which might be true, but given what he'd said before that, it seemed suspiciously like he was making up reasons not to give me the rate stated in my confirmation email. In the end, he agreed to give me the conference rate, but when I went to check out, he had only changed it for the last 2 nights. I talked to the desk clerk, who talked to the manager, and they ended up giving me the conference rate for the full stay, but it really shouldn't have been that difficult. BTW, the desk staff was always friendly, which was nice.

So overall, I liked the Residence Inn at Capitol Park, and would have given it a fantastic rating, if the billing hadn't been such a hassle.

  • Liked — nice facilities, breakfast and fruit, friendly staff
  • Disliked — manager was not very nice about billing problems
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stay at this hotel weekly for business and it is about as good as you could wish for a "second home." If I HAD to complain, my only tweaks would be that the parking is a bit odd- not connected to the hotel and up 5 floors, but if you can get yourself out the door and into an elevator, you're OK. In the studio rooms, sometimes the air vents are configured to blow directly on your head.

NOW, that being said, I love everything else about this hotel. Nice little fitness center, great location, wonderful beds, new flat screen TVs you can swivel to watch either in bed or in the living room area, working, new kitchen appliances. This hotel beats the more expensive Hyatt down the street and is my 1st choice for places to stay in DSac.

  • Liked — proximity to restaurants, the capitol
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Address: 1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's only Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.