We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the City!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park to your Saves list
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Best in the City!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The general Manager Shelly Moranville, runs a first class establishment with an extremely hospitable and knowledgeable staff. This is my first choice for hotels when I travel to Sacramento. In addition to the rooms always being clean, spacious and comfortable....the bar/restaurant is first class and features 1/2 price appetizers in the evenings. The Residence Inn, Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park also features a full breakfast fit for a king. If you prefer to eat outside of the hotel, this location is basically in the middle of many great restaurants.

Room Tip: I typically request a higher room and have never had any complaints with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thanks Jason! One of the things that makes me love what I do is helping our guests and making this part of their travel easy and enjoyable. That combined with a great team of people by my side makes my job fun to do. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    114
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
80
43
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My fiancé and I had a wonderful experience at the residence inn. My fiancé was attending a conference in sacramento, and Lyla was so nice to not only let me check in early but to also give me a great room with a nice view! It was our 3 year anniversary and I wanted to make it special for my fiancé. With hundreds of restaurants around the hotel to choose from,Marisa helped me narrow down my choice to a very romantic and reasonably priced restaurant. Finally, to top it all off,Yvette came up with the idea of placing flowers and a bottle of wine in my room when we were out to dinner to surprise my fiancé. I was so impressed with their above and beyond customer service. All three of the ladies went out of their way to make it a special night for my fiance and me. i would recommend this place to anyone, and can not wait to come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location is perfect! You are in the middle of downtown so restaurants, bars, shopping, and the State Capital are within walking distance. The room was very clean and the service was superior. The restaurant in the lobby was very nice and they had sports on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to have such a great location and a great team. I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Shelly Moranville, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week for work, and was super impressed. The rooms were beautiful and really well set up with separate sleeping nooks and huge bathrooms. The kitchen was gorgeous and all the furniture was super comfortable. The hotel staff were great, the breakfast was totally suitable and the gym area was awesome. The pool/hottub was closed for maintenance but that's ok - it looked nice! The beds were pretty hard, and some noise carried between rooms.

There are so many great restaurants nearby, and the hotel rents bikes, which I sadly only found out about the last day. Sacramento has a huge bike path network.

Central location, easy to get to, really near the Capitol and about a 20 minute walk to Old Sacramento. I'd totally stay here again. Go get an excellent coffee at Old Soul Coffee Co. a few blocks away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great staff. Clean, comfortable rooms and the perfect location to stay while visiting Sacramento, CA. The staff was very pleasant. The rooms are clean with clean kitchens. This is the place to stay while visiting Sacramento. Couldn’t ask for a better location.

Room Tip: I did not use the spa nor had breakfast (no time), however, I am sure they are better than average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Was chosen by meeting organizer but ended being very convenient. clean modern room have full kitchen, yet hot breakfast is served! You can walk to mall and many restaurants. Park is close by. staff is friendly and helpfull. Starbuck (at Hyatt) is 2 min walk and opens at 5h30! i bought a latte there and waited until breakfast opens at Residence (6h30) to get rest of breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel as we were going to be participating at a show at the convention center. Two people in my town had told me they had stayed there and it was great. We booked a studio but it is really like a one bedroom without a door. We were surprised by the roomy full kitchen and all the plates, bowls, silverware and pots and pans. It was like a full condo. Bed was comfortable, very roomy kitchen. We were literally across the street from the convention center's back doors which we had access too. The bar/lounge was pleasant and they had some snacks while the football game was on. The staff were EXCEPTIONAL! Many nice restaurants all very very close. We will definitely stay there again or book another Marriott Residence Inn.

Breakfast comes with the room also. Nothing to write home about there though they tried to serve different sides to the scrambled eggs every day. Pool and spa were closed for construction while we were there, though they looked very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We often hear how suprised people are when they stay with us and find that everyroom in the hotel has a full kitchen with dishes, silverware and pots and pans. While not everyone will need these items it is nice for travelers to have the option of eating in one or two nights, especially if you are here for a week or two. I will most definately share your comments about the staff with them; as I have mentioned many times they work very hard to take good care of our guests.

Thanks again for your review, Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Address: 1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.