We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay, attractive room decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend stay, attractive room decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Positive experience with this property in downtown Sacramento. Below are highlights:

--convenient location close to State Capitol, K street restaurants, convention center, etc.
--we got room on 10th floor, away from street, quiet
--room was attractive, well appointed, modern, stylish decor
--L-shaped "suite" with modest living/dining room, well equipped kitchenette
--free Wifi, strong signal
--we found street parking, free after 6 pm, all day Sunday
--flat panel TV that swiveled between living area and bed area, full cable with premium channels like HBO

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    101
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
64
36
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

If you need to work downtown, this is a very good location. The staff are well trained and the breakfast is generous (but typical for a Marriott). The internet connection is reliable and easy. The local cafe/bar is comfortable. Parking is convenient and reasonably priced ($17). It's a favorite of mine for Sacramento.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was small, but the staff was so helpful, willing to replace a tv remote, or bring towels during all parts of our stay. There was a morning breakfast buffet that was clean and had a variety of items every day. There was a restaurant/bar combo right in the hotel. Parking was convenient and was affordable for the downtown Sacramento area at only $17.00/day. There was work out facilities that included free weights, treadmills, elliptical machines and bikes. There was an outdoor pool and hot tub. If you are staying on a weekend, I recommend asking for an inside room since the rooms facing the main streets are loud due to the restaurants and bars the hotel is located near.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, I recommend asking for an inside room since the rooms facing the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed 3 nights last weekend....spacious rooms, good amemities, got a high floor with great view of capital building and park....parking a bit of a pain in adjacant bldg but not that bad...good central location....breakfast was ok...only made it once....staff always greeted us and bartenders were friendly and made great local suggestions.....would visit again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location and has features that make extended stay very convenient including kitchen. Stayed in two different rooms during my stay, a suite with two rooms and a standard king. Kitchen amenities were great in both. The suite had a spectacular view of the capital and rose gardens. The suite had a room with 2 beds, one room with a king, and a sofa bed in the living area. The sofa bed was not comfortable - no surprise. There was a lot of 'food' in the bed, when I opened it, as if it had not been opened/cleaned in a year. In the suite, both bathrooms and all closets are in the bedrooms. It would be more practical for there to be a bathroom and a closet with access via the common area.

The reservation staff seemed to have trouble keeping their commitments and finding records. Had made requests for housekeeping items and they never delivered.

Room Tip: Southwest corner has views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am so terribly sorry this was your experience, I will definately share your comments with our housekeeping and front desk teams so these things do not occur in the future. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Sacramento!

Again, my apologies!

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just completed a two night midweek stay, and were generally satisfied with the experience.

Pluses:
Spacious rooms, recently renovated and sparkling clean
Kitchen facilities in each room, with ample utensils and dinnerware
Prompt room service, good quality, and reasonably priced

Minuses:
-The beds were a memory foam-type mattress, but VERY firm. No pillow-top.
-Parking was a hassle. Only on 6th and 7th floors of garage, then had to take elevator to ground level, cross an alley, and enter hotel lobby and go back up another elevator to your room.
- Wifi was spotty and slow both in our room and in the lobby. 2 of the 3 guest computers in the lounge area were out of service during our entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently had a long term stay for business with these folks and it was fantastic! The hotel was always clean, rooms always taken care of and warm greetings daily. Being away from home and family for 10 months is enough to make me crazy but the staff here made me feel like I belonged and each time my family came to visit me they made them feel the same way. My son had so much fun with the staff he even went with them to deliver room service on a couple occasions. My wife actually had built good friendships with some and still stays in touch with them.

To sum it up, any time I go to the Sacramento area there is no question of where you will find me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to make sure each of our guests feels like a member of our family and not just a room number! We know how hard it is for anyone to be away from thier families but especially for our long term guests. It is wonderful to know our staff did just that for you and your family. I will be sure to share you review with the team so they know their efforts are being recognized by our guests.

Thanks Again!

Shelly Moranville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Address: 1121 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's only Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.