We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value if you're going to the expo center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1784 Tribute Road, Sacramento, CA 95815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #34 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Value if you're going to the expo center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

the property has everything you need and is very reasonably priced. There's a secret back way to walk to the expo center and BAM, you just saved 10$ a day on parking! This property would have gotten an excellent rating from me but both days when I went down for breakfast, the eating area was 100% full. the breakfast area is half the size of a comparable Courtyard or Hampton.
Also, there is no bar or resturant here but you can walk accross the parking lot to the Courtyard and eat there if you like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
19
8
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here two consecutive Thanksgiving Day weekends. I was attending the Hmong New Year celebration at nearby Cal Expo. Both times I found everything in good working order. I have stayed at other hotel-motels which didn't have everything working properly. The front desk clerks and maids are very friendly and helpful. They come from many countries. This is like a mini-United Nations. The continental breakfast has several selections and the items are fresh. I enjoyed the hot tub during the cool evening. The children were brave enough to use the swimming pool, since it was cold outside. The suite has a queen size bed and a hide-a-bed. The kitchen area has a large refrigerator, microwave oven, sink and kitchen utensils.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a nicer view and are away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My stay was overall the best. Front desk is very helpful and kind.maybe new staff? ive stayed herre before,but this time was a upgrade lol I enjoyed my stay.Housekeeping was reall good especially gladys,shes a sweetheart! the lady from front desk Erica always smiling and Sandie.They were both helpful!! Definetly satying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here again for work and I must say that the front desk staff is super friendly and very helpful. I think it's a new management company than the last time I was here and everyone seemed very capable.

The rooms are decent and kept clean if showing a tiny bit of wear, but everyone I encountered was great.

However, we had items stolen from this hotel last year and we had two incidents this year as well. The first one was not the fault of the hotel, but tells you a little about the area: our rental car had it's window smashed right in front of the hotel in the middle of a bright weekday afternoon and a GPS unit was stolen. Multiple cars in the lot were broken into including one of the hotel staff's cars.

A week later, some member of the hotel staff (we were also told the door lock wasn't working properly) stole a laptop out of our room. The evening we reported it missing we came up while another guest was reporting his iPad stolen out of his room. People shouldn't leave things out, but there is not a safe in the room and as a business hotel I would think leaving your laptop while your door is closed and locked should not be a concern. Let me say that the hotel did make things right, but two stays and three incidents tells me this hotel is unfortunately in a bad area and you should avoid it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms are spacious with a comfortable bed. TV was upgraded to flat screen during my stay with DirecTV. Was able to connect PS3 w/HDMI. Internet speed is not very good. Breakfast is limited. These were the only downfalls. However, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this property for 19 days and it was lovely! Everything you need is there, the room is not as big as Marriott's Residence Inn but it was cozy. The staff are friendly and they remember you. There's an issue about the auto door lock in our room during our stay but they made sure they check it every now and then. There is a small swimming pool and family usually hangout and make some bbq on weekends. The Costco is a 10-min walk from the hotel if you need to buy some stuff. The breakfast selection is not much but adequate enough. Overall stay was comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went to Sacramento for a memorial service for a family member. Usually we stayed at the Residence Inn on Howe Avenue, but we took issue with that hotel because we wanted two queen beds, and all they could offer was a penthouse. Because there were only three of us, we didn't need that much room. So the search began, and it turned out that this hotel was the only one that could offer us two queens. It was about half the cost as the Residence Inn.

We checked in at about 3:00 AM, but had no problems except parking. The hotel is located on a Marriott hotel campus with a Courtyard by Marriott across the parking lot, and a Fairfield Inn next door. Because of our circumstances we usually got back to the hotel fairly late each night, and all parking was taken, forcing us to park in the rear of the Courtyard. Additionally the desk clerk (I don't want to knock any of the staff, they were all great) did not know the shortest way to our room, telling us to take one elevator when we should have taken the other.

The two beds in our room were fine, one was firm, the other soft, and all three of us slept well. The TV was an old box TV, but we didn't watch it the entire time we were there. We did use the WiFi, and had no problems. The kitchenette was adequate, but we had very little need for it aside from the refrigerator. It also had a two burner stove top, dishwasher, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom is a real bathroom, not a tub surround. It had a porcelain bathtub, and ceramic tile, a pleasant change! However, the tub itself was low profile for easy entry, and the shower curtain was barely long enough. Water easily seeps out onto the floor while showering. Additionally the bathroom is not ventilated, so to keep it cool the door must be propped open while you are away.

On weekends the hot breakfast is served until 10:00 AM. This array was limited. We have eaten better at the Residence Inn. "Hot" included oatmeal and make-your-own waffles. There was also a selection of three dry cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, breads, bagels and muffins. It was nothing fancy or spectacular. On weekdays (service until 9:30) they serve scrambled eggs, and the attendant walks over to the Courtyard to get them. This dining room has a sign that says capacity is 25. There are four tables for two, two tables for 4, two chairs in the business center, and a couch and two chairs in the living room arrangement for a total seating of 23. The dining room does get busy in the morning. If I read the floor plan correctly there are 165 rooms in this hotel. If the hotel is even half full the dining room becomes overwhelmed very quickly.

The pool and spa are small, but the area was never crowded while we were there. We did not use the fitness room. This hotel is designed for conventioneers, but there were a surprising number of families with children.

This hotel is very conveniently located right off of Business 80, and down the street from Cal Expo. The Arden Fair Mall is close by too, and there are plenty of restaurants along Arden Way. There are railroad tracks close by, and if the sound of train horns bother you, this may not be your best choice. This did not bother us at all. We recommend this hotel unless you want extras. This is good for basics. Marriott describes this hotel as a mid-priced extended stay hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the North are on the Freeway entrance ramp. Rooms facing South are on the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1784 Tribute Road, Sacramento, CA 95815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Real Living! I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the TownePlace Suites Cal Expo, Sacramento CA. The TownePlace Suites is conveniently located to all major destinations of Sacramento, including Sacramento International Airport, Downtown Sacramento, California State Capital, and Old Town Sacramento. We offer 117 spacious suites that come in four different floor plans, ranging from Studio Suites with one queen bed or two queen beds, One Bedroom Suites and Two Bedroom Suites. Each of our hotel suites is uniquely designed for the extended stay travel in mind with fully quipped kitchens and the welcome home feel. We provide a complimentary local shuttle service Monday-Friday,within a 5-mile radius, which would be a great transportation resource for your personnel. There is also 775 sq. ft. of meeting space that can comfortably accommodate 25-30 people as well as catering services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.