We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still outstanding - amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mulvaney's Building & Loan

Mulvaney's Building & Loan
1215 19th St, Sacramento, CA 95814
916 441 6022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mulvaney's Building & Loan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,804 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: L st and Capitol Ave
Transit: Bus stop across the street.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Still outstanding - amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went back this year for my birthday. Had another amazing dinner. Everything was so wonderful; cooked perfectly; and seasoned perfectly. All of the staff were friendly, attentive, and very helpful.

The specific reason I am writing this review is to comment on the chef. We were sitting at the chef's counter and able to watch some of the magic behind the Mulvaney's meal experience. I overheard a server asking about gluten free options on the menu (strict gluten free) and the chef was giving some different options. They made the amuse bouche gluten free specially for this diner. The server then came back and asked if the angel hair PASTA could be made gluten free. Instead of saying no and making this person pick another entree, the chef stopped what he was in the middle of and made FRESH gluten free pasta dough from scratch!!!

I was extremely impressed by the degree to which this restaurant will go in order to make its customers happy. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    27
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

went for dinner which was very good. started with the meat tray and cheese tray. the bacon onion relish was awesome. they cure their own meats which were quite yummy. had the swordfish which was cooked perfectly. my husband had the ribeye which was cooked also correctly at med rare. we will be back again. thank you for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“#5 on Yelp Sacramento, Now I Know Why…..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We attended in a group setting, yet everything was perfect -- the service, the appetizers, the salad, the entrees (there were 3 choices but everyone got a huge portion of each one), and the dessert.

I could go on and on about the specifics of why each dish was outstanding in every aspect, but suffice to say they use the finest ingredients sourced locally whenever possible. Most of the time that "locally sourced" bs is just a bunch of hot air, but Patrick Mulvaney really backs it up with the tastiest recipes and satisfied customers.

When we go back for our anniversary dinner (in January), we hope the fettucine (forget Biba) and the seared ahi (forget about Mikuni's) are still on the menu. Although we loved the tri-tip steak, (forget about The Buckhorn in Winters)!

Highly recommended….this is "The Kitchen" on a budget, scaled down for smaller appetites!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“5 Star Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

As for service, food and atmosphere, this restaurant will top your list. Mulvaneys Restaurant is the epitome of quality cuisine; it is absolutely 5 star!!! The presentation of the food was excellent; I ordered the pork chop dinner...one of the best I have had without question. The restaurant is converted from an ild fire station; this offered a very unique atmosphere. I highly recommend this for a special night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impeccabale Service...Food Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Let's start with the service. Fantastic. It was our anniversary and they really made us feel special. It seems like every employee we encountered offered us a "happy anniversary". Special custom menus, writing on our dessert plate, they really went all out. But the real service itself was great. Our water pitcher was full and whisked away and replaced when it needed replenishment. The server anticipated our needs and took care of us.

The food was good. The feature at our table was the pork chop and what a chop it was! We also had a lamb pasta dish that was average. I appreciate the local flavor of their menu but it was somewhat limiting and there was nothing that screamed "order me".

All in all, it was a special evening and while we won't be regulars (even if we could afford it) we'd return at some point in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulvaney's Building & Loan also viewed

 

Been to Mulvaney's Building & Loan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulvaney's Building & Loan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.