We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Bou

La Bou
1355 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2916
(916) 448-5233
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 1,773 Restaurants in Sacramento
Restaurant details
Lincoln, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We very rarely even see this restaurant. It is not on the beaten path and kinds became boring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent food, needs to be cleaner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The sanwiches are good. The salads and Vietnamese food are above average. The asian chicken salad and the rice paper spring rolls are my favorite. It's a little messy and more attention could be given to the cleanliness of the tables and the ladies bathroom (not sure about the men's). I always get a little nervous when a bathroom is not kept at a certain level. The one on Howe Ave is always busy at lunch and serves Vietnamese food, the one on Watt does not serve the Vietnamese menu. I 've eaten at both several times so that must be saying something in favor of them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Still good, but facing more competition than 20 years ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The soups and sandwiches are still good, but, to me, many of the locations don't feel as special as they did when new 20 years ago. Still, the bread is great, and these are still good places to grab a quick bite.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not just fabulous croissants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Always love the food. Even their salads and soups are delish! If their cashiers would smile once in a while, that would just top it off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cockroaches- Need I Say More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

There is nothing less appetizing then seeing a cockroach skitter across a "clean" plate. Some of there food items are good, but just thinking of that fat red beetle makes my stomach churn. Go somewhere where health inspections are accurate!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bou also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to La Bou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.