We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful mansion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park

Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park
cnr of 8th and 'N' Sts, Sacramento, CA
916 324 0575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 171 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Honomu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A beautiful mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The mansion is beautiful and there is some great history. Unfortunately, much of the house was off limits (at least to our tour), but the portions we saw were beautiful and well maintained.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful but docents need to get some pizazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I visited the mansion recently with a group and found the building and most of the grounds to be absolutely stunning. The male docent who led our group, however was a pill. He conducted our tour with an air of superiority and was sarcastic when answering questions.
It's worth the time to visit this wonderfully restored building to see the interiors, but if the rest of the tour staff is anything like that guy, I wouldn't go back. A female employee running the small gift shop out back was friendly and talkative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Brings Jane Stanford to Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lots of people visit Stanford University, but who was the woman who founded it? Why? The Stanford Mansion tells that story beautifully.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very informative tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Free tour of the Stanford Mansion was an excellent way to learn about California history - and about the Stanford Family and their influence on California that is still in existence today.

Lovely old mansion that has been lovingly restored. Bring quarters to park on the street!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Back at time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Place to go.
Well-equipped mansion.
Kind and good knowledge tour guides.
I will go again.
You can take picture only outside!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.