We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best meal that I have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
2225 Hurley Way, Sacramento, CA 95825
9165687171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,753 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $125 - $125
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Howe Ave.
Transit: Need a driver? Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.
Description: Located in Sacramento, America's Farm to Fork Capital, The Kitchen Restaurant is the most unique and exhilarating dining experience in all of California. Our renowned 6-course Demonstration Dinners feature Chefs Randall Selland and Noah Zonca preparing a creative and sumptuous feast for all your senses right before your very eyes. Made with the absolute best ingredients from the region and around the world, our amazing seasonal menus are just the beginning of an evening of fine food, and entertainment found nowhere else. After 16 years, this family affair is still a true original, blending the innovative cuisine, engaging entertainment, award winning wine list and genuine hospitality that have continued to make it one of the most sought after reservations in the state. For a truly special dining experience and an evening to savor and cherish, The Kitchen is unmatched. Dinners are $125.00 per person and are by reservation only with limited seating, so please call if you are unsuccessful booking online and we will gladly assist you.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal that I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Each month there is a set menu at a fixed price. The dinner consists of six ot seven courses with an intermetzzo of sushi and pickled vegetables. All dietary restrictions are accomodated whether glutin free, vegetarian, etc. including the fact that I did want a pouched egg on the appitizer. The evening (about four hours) is a gastronomic delight. Each course was excellent. For me, the highlight was the swordfish which I can only describe as "amazing". The chef and his extensive staff all encourage the guests to explore the kitchen, walk in refrigerator and wine celler and take pictures. It is expensive but the experience is one that we talk about with anyone that will listen. It is that good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This dining experience will definitely stand out above all others. It is pricey but worth the experience! And it is quite an experience! You can tour the kitchen and really participate in the preparation. Or just sit back while the the chef prepares your meal, giving details about the ingredients.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've lived in the area for 10 years and finally made it into The Kitchen. The food, wine, service, and experience was excellent and worth every penny. Definitely pair your meal with the wines it's worth the extra $.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience to tantalize and challenge your tastebuds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is not very often that I rate any restaurant a "5", but this is it!

Off the hook, blending entertainment with culinary delights, this is "off the proverbial hook"!

True, the cost is out of some's reach; I was fortunate to attend as a guest on several occassions for a pharma presentation, but it is worth at least a "one time" special event...so save up!

The knowledgeable staff pair wines with the delectable offerings to enhance the experience... one must go, at least once, to experience...

Located behind a Taco Bell in a non-descript building, don't be fooled by the outside, it is the inside that counts!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best kitchen show in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been going to a lots of restaurants over the years this place is by far the best. Food is fantastic,now when you book The menu they give you is what you are going to have.(do not expect burger and fries) The menu can be paired with wines or you have the choice to choose your own wine if you wish,they have beer also.This is a show like you would watch on TV it is fantastic. The meal will last 3 to 4 hours .The service is fantastic also.The best seats are at the counter,great for two or three.Only one show per night be there on time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.