We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
2225 Hurley Way, Sacramento, CA 95825
9165687171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,795 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $125 - $125
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Howe Ave.
Transit: Need a driver? Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.
Description: Located in Sacramento, America's Farm to Fork Capital, The Kitchen Restaurant is the most unique and exhilarating dining experience in all of California. Our renowned 6-course Demonstration Dinners feature Chefs Randall Selland and Noah Zonca preparing a creative and sumptuous feast for all your senses right before your very eyes. Made with the absolute best ingredients from the region and around the world, our amazing seasonal menus are just the beginning of an evening of fine food, and entertainment found nowhere else. After 16 years, this family affair is still a true original, blending the innovative cuisine, engaging entertainment, award winning wine list and genuine hospitality that have continued to make it one of the most sought after reservations in the state. For a truly special dining experience and an evening to savor and cherish, The Kitchen is unmatched. Dinners are $125.00 per person and are by reservation only with limited seating, so please call if you are unsuccessful booking online and we will gladly assist you.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've lived in the area for 10 years and finally made it into The Kitchen. The food, wine, service, and experience was excellent and worth every penny. Definitely pair your meal with the wines it's worth the extra $.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience to tantalize and challenge your tastebuds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is not very often that I rate any restaurant a "5", but this is it!

Off the hook, blending entertainment with culinary delights, this is "off the proverbial hook"!

True, the cost is out of some's reach; I was fortunate to attend as a guest on several occassions for a pharma presentation, but it is worth at least a "one time" special event...so save up!

The knowledgeable staff pair wines with the delectable offerings to enhance the experience... one must go, at least once, to experience...

Located behind a Taco Bell in a non-descript building, don't be fooled by the outside, it is the inside that counts!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best kitchen show in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been going to a lots of restaurants over the years this place is by far the best. Food is fantastic,now when you book The menu they give you is what you are going to have.(do not expect burger and fries) The menu can be paired with wines or you have the choice to choose your own wine if you wish,they have beer also.This is a show like you would watch on TV it is fantastic. The meal will last 3 to 4 hours .The service is fantastic also.The best seats are at the counter,great for two or three.Only one show per night be there on time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Kitchen is always fun and the food ranges from very good to great. We had a reservation for four people and we were seated front and center at the counter. That is a great spot to be if you are a couple as you can talk to each other and also watch the show in the kitchen.

But counter seating is not good if you are a group of four (or larger) and want to be able to converse with your party without leaning over the back of the person next to you. We were disappointed not to be able to really have conversation with our guests. Yes, we could converse in between courses but someone really had to hop off their stool and come around and stand behind the others to do so. I would suggest that the Kitchen ask if counter seating is agreeable, or at least warn them ahead that that will be the situation, and maybe ask if you might prefer another night?

Everyone looks forward to the Intermission when sushi and sashimi is served. We were some of the last people in line (although we did not dally) and the serving trays were almost empty. Some guests rush the tables and take large amounts. We had only a few pieces left to take. I wanted to taste the oysters and the sashimi - and I did ask that they bring another tray with some so everyone in our party could have a taste as well. The Kitchen was not on top of being sure everyone was taken care of. It was kind of a scramble at the Intermission table.

The entrée was one small lamb chop from a rack – I will call it a lamb niblet. It was delicious but I needed more food. I actually left the restaurant hungry. The Kitchen is very good about saying to please ask for whatever you would like; substitutions, seconds, etc. I was tempted (my friend did order a second soup course) but it doesn’t really feel comfortable to do so. It puts you off rhythm with everyone else – and you can see how hard the kitchen staff is working and it doesn’t quite feel appropriate to ask them to break their hectic pace to whip you up a repeat course.

The staff is wonderful and we did enjoy our meal and our evening, but especially considering the cost of the dinner I would love to see some improvement in the areas I mentioned. I will come back to the Kitchen another time as I want to support a restaurant of this quality and innovation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a little pricey, but is worth every cent. The food was picked from the garden each day, meat is outstanding, fish plucked from the ocean or river that day. A true gourmet experience with everything prepared in front of your eyes with talented chef's. Randall is still outstanding after many years in the business. Save this for a very special event in your life. You will always remember it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.