We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kitchen show in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
2225 Hurley Way, Sacramento, CA 95825
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,710 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Howe Ave.
Transit: Need a driver? Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.
Description: The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert. The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best kitchen show in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been going to a lots of restaurants over the years this place is by far the best. Food is fantastic,now when you book The menu they give you is what you are going to have.(do not expect burger and fries) The menu can be paired with wines or you have the choice to choose your own wine if you wish,they have beer also.This is a show like you would watch on TV it is fantastic. The meal will last 3 to 4 hours .The service is fantastic also.The best seats are at the counter,great for two or three.Only one show per night be there on time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Louis163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
282 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Kitchen is always fun and the food ranges from very good to great. We had a reservation for four people and we were seated front and center at the counter. That is a great spot to be if you are a couple as you can talk to each other and also watch the show in the kitchen.

But counter seating is not good if you are a group of four (or larger) and want to be able to converse with your party without leaning over the back of the person next to you. We were disappointed not to be able to really have conversation with our guests. Yes, we could converse in between courses but someone really had to hop off their stool and come around and stand behind the others to do so. I would suggest that the Kitchen ask if counter seating is agreeable, or at least warn them ahead that that will be the situation, and maybe ask if you might prefer another night?

Everyone looks forward to the Intermission when sushi and sashimi is served. We were some of the last people in line (although we did not dally) and the serving trays were almost empty. Some guests rush the tables and take large amounts. We had only a few pieces left to take. I wanted to taste the oysters and the sashimi - and I did ask that they bring another tray with some so everyone in our party could have a taste as well. The Kitchen was not on top of being sure everyone was taken care of. It was kind of a scramble at the Intermission table.

The entrée was one small lamb chop from a rack – I will call it a lamb niblet. It was delicious but I needed more food. I actually left the restaurant hungry. The Kitchen is very good about saying to please ask for whatever you would like; substitutions, seconds, etc. I was tempted (my friend did order a second soup course) but it doesn’t really feel comfortable to do so. It puts you off rhythm with everyone else – and you can see how hard the kitchen staff is working and it doesn’t quite feel appropriate to ask them to break their hectic pace to whip you up a repeat course.

The staff is wonderful and we did enjoy our meal and our evening, but especially considering the cost of the dinner I would love to see some improvement in the areas I mentioned. I will come back to the Kitchen another time as I want to support a restaurant of this quality and innovation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
3 Thank Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a little pricey, but is worth every cent. The food was picked from the garden each day, meat is outstanding, fish plucked from the ocean or river that day. A true gourmet experience with everything prepared in front of your eyes with talented chef's. Randall is still outstanding after many years in the business. Save this for a very special event in your life. You will always remember it!!!

Thank Maxi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make a Wonderful Memory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The absolute best food we have ever had anywhere. We took our family of 6 for a celebration dinner. The presentation was intriguing to us all and the food was exceptional. Age range from 49 to 12 years. I am not adventurous when it comes to food but I thought I will try everything put before me. I could not believe the flavors of the different courses, each were fantastic. You can get seconds or more of any of the courses. The service was excellent as well. Our family still talks about "The Kitchen" and the wonderful time we all shared together and memories we will carry with us. If you want a night to always remember (proposal, anniversary, birthday etc.) make reservations for this place and you won't be disappointed. You may want to make a reservation a month in advance for a party of 6 or more. It is not cheap but, the quality and quantity of food with the show is hard to be disappointed in the cost you get your monies worth and then some.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food was very good, service was even better. It would want to be for the price! It was a good experience, overall.

Thank Barbarajohnson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed


Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing