We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Espanol Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Espanol Restaurant
5723 Folsom Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95819-4607
916-457-1936
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 1,804 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $13 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our group had not been here for over twenty years. Nothing had changed! We were seated promptly. Our server, Ronnie, was great. She was friendly, helpful, patient while we chatted and very proud of the food she served. Our foursome chose two ala cart and two dinners and split the salad and soup. Two had salad with blue cheese dressing. The salads were unimaginative but loaded with dressing. Two had the New England clam chowder. I thought the chowder was thin and bland. My friend thought it was delicious. Our entrees were good with unusual sides. The roast beef which was quite tender was served with penne pasta and mashed potatoes with dark gravy. Both the eggplant Parmesan and lasagne were well prepared and tasty with a rich flavorful tomato sauce. My catfish was lightly breaded, moist and tender. It was not deep fried but probably sauteed . The fish was served with fries and penne pasta. The pasta was cold.
Espanol is not fine dining. The checked tablecloths are faded. The napkins are paper. But the restauant takes you back to another time when eating out was relaxed, unhurried and inexpensive. The overall rating is really somewhere around Good, not Very Good but the experience for us was great fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Steady Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Typical neighborhood dining establishment. Always dependable, always good. Nothing fancy. Don't let the name fool you. It's Italian.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sunday night dinner at Espanol, Crowded--not too many young folks here. Enormous portions with enough leftovers for another 2 meals! Service is warm and efficient--alot of the new trendy places could take a hint from Espanol. Located on a busy street with limited parking. Make a reservation! They honored our request for a quiet table, and took us promptly at 6pm on a Sunday night. Primarily Italian-good sauce but a bit salty. I had eggplant parmesan dinner--that comes with all you can eat Minestrone soup (yes, seconds!), a nice salad, main dish, bread and a choice of ice cream or spumoni. Hadn't been there in years--still consistenly good. Not inexpensive--figure $20/per person without beer or wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first time and after being intrigued for years, had a very disappointing experience. We do a lot of fine dining, so I've tried to keep that from influencing this review. I got the bellini to start (it was just sparkling wine with grenadine and a cherry - yuck.) My sweetie's margaritas were good. I ordered the cheese ravioli with pesto ala carte. My sweetie ordered the chicken Luigi full dinner. I ate the salad that came with his dinner. The salad itself had many interesting items (salami, garbanzos, etc.,) but was ruined by the nasty (bottled?) Italian dressing. The minestrone was tasteless. The pesto on my ravioli was horrible - dried, not fresh basil was used. The chicken was tasty. With our $30 groupon, the final bill was still over $30. Way too much for such inferior food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good traditional Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is authentic. For the price, you can't go wrong. Soup, salad and the main course for under 25$ is spetacular. The servers are friendly and they go out of their way to smile and engage in smalltalk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espanol Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Espanol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espanol Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.