We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of Downtown Sac, heavenly sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Sushi

Zen Sushi
900 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2010
916-446-9628
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 1,615 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In the middle of Downtown Sac, heavenly sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A real surprise here is that in my hometown I have found --of all things--a quaint, even bustling sushi restaurant with great quality seafood,and great rolls, Their bento box dinners are packed with food and you do walk out stuffed. Maybe not the very best in Sacramento,but THIS IS SACRAMENTO so if it's one of the best, then you should get there soon.Right across from Mem Auditorium

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Top Contributor
818 reviews 818 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
“fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

loved it. Food was delicious and service was quick. popular place in downtown sacramento.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Excellent food and the service was great. We tried a variety of dishes off of their menu and it all tasted delicious. We had our kids with us and they loved the food as well, and it is not often that I can say that.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Calm, sparkling, delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

One of our favorites to celebrate over lunch with colleagues. We made reservation for eight. The table, place setting, water bottles and menus were immaculately set for our arrival.

The restaurant is located at a street corner with large glass-windows and plenty of natural light. Although the restaurant were almost full, it was relatively calm. The space separation into three sections helped.

The service were friendly but a tad slow in the beginning; we waited about fifteen minutes for our orders to be taken. We had the Bento box combos, udon, and sushi. Presentations were crisp, combos were balanced, light, and delicious. Bill were timely with 18% gratuity included, and it came to $98 for the eight of us.

This remains one of our favorite places for lunch, and it's only four blocks from office.
We missed the previous restaurant Zen Torro which relocated to Davis. Zen Sushi is almost as good and we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very fresh food, and some interesting creations - have to try the "Better than Sex" appetizer.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Sushi also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Zen Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.