We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Come Back Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paragary's

Paragary's
1401 28th St, Sacramento, CA 95816
916-457-5737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 1,615 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Paragary's Bar and Oven is widely considered one of the best restaurants in the thriving Sacramento dining scene. Supporting a legacy that goes back to the early '80s, the kitchen team takes immense pride in all things food. From concept, ingredients, preparation, and presentation, to service, atmosphere and price, great measures are taken to insure excellence. The wood-burning oven provides perfectly cooked gourmet pizzas and calzones, while the kitchen turns out fresh and seasonal dishes with a Mediterranean flair. A must-see is the back patio, one of the most unique outdoor dining experiences in Sacramento.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always Come Back Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of those really fine restaurants that is easy on the pocket but generous on the taste buds. Good food and good service. We always give gift certificates to Paragary's

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always a consistently great meal, with wonderful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A great restaurant for before the theater, since if you tell them you need to get in and out they really make the effort to get you comfortably fed and off in good time. Also great for a date, a business lunch, or just because. The chicken with handcut rosemary noodles has made the best dish in Sacramento list for a reason - it is comfort food at its best. All the fish is wonderful, the calamari appetizer is probably the best prepared in Sacramento, and the salad dressing if you choose the salad with walnuts and bleu cheese is worth a visit alone. We've been going there since it opened, and the servers have watched my kids grow up. They are always kind and are willing to make child friendly substitutions (like yukon gold mashed potatoes with any entree) The pizzas are good too, cooked in the wood fired oven. There is outdoor seating on the patio, which is beautiful on a fall or spring evening, or in the later evening in the summer. It has a beautiful water feature. There is also a fireplace inside for those chilly fall and winter evenings. Just a wonderful classy place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Every meal I ever had here was delicious. The food is fresh and presented beautifully on the plates. Parking can be a problem at the midtown location.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quality of food soars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The quality of the food is what always cranks up my evaluation for Paragarys. Fresh, local, seasonal and delicious. Everything else is great too. Prices are reasonable and the staff is welcoming and on the job. Last time we had two servers, and then the bartender or manager came to the table to see if we wanted additional drinks. Bread was excellent - very fresh. I ordered the Lettuce Gems salad because it was so enticingly described and we were not disappointed. Steak, salmon and plum crisp - all beautifully presented and very flavorful with lots of vegies with the main course (and no potatoes which I appreciate). My only suggestion would be more fruit desserts - emphasis on fruit. But that is what I say everywhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Paragarys has been voted a Best of Sacramento for years and we have dined there occasionally for years as well. The food and service are exceptional in every way and take advantage of the very best that the season has to offer. The outdoor patio is a must when the weather permits and is highly recommended. As to the menu, there is not a bad offering on it and we have always been impressed by the food. If you are not sure where to go for dinner, start here(!) and you will be impressed. The appetizers, bread, pasta, and risotto were all excellent and highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paragary's also viewed

 

Been to Paragary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paragary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.