We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Lodging in Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Bercut Drive, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value Lodging in Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

In April I booked a 2 bedroom suite and reserved a conference room for 2 business associates that were coming into town. I was looking for a hotel that had a central location, suites with a kitchen (since they were staying for a week), decent meeting facilities, and a reasonable price. Hawthorne Suites caught my attention based on price alone, and I booked the room and conference room after driving down to take a look at the property.

Let me begin the review by saying, you get what you pay for. There is a reason this hotel was half the price of comparable hotels in the Sacramento area, and why the cost of the entire business trip was probably 1/3 of the cost we would have paid for identical accommodations and meeting room access at another local hotel. It would be unfair to rate this hotel like it was a 4 or 5 star hotel. However, taking the price and hotel rating into consideration, our experience couldn't have been better.

The breakfast buffet was great, hotel staff were great, the free shuttle from the airport and driver were great (the driver even offered to drive my colleagues in the evening), and there was even a complimentary happy hour (free beer and wine) during the week.

Reviewing the hotel itself, the grounds were attractive and clean, and the conference room was just what we needed. The 2 bedroom suite was VERY spacious and had all necessary amenities, but the décor was a little dated. The ONLY issue to note was a slight odor in the room (it was probably a smoking room at one point), but in all fairness we didn't request another room or bring this up with the hotel since it was a minor issue for my colleagues.

Location was excellent, being one of the closest hotels to the airport and probably a 3 minute drive to the river, downtown, and Old Sacramento. For those of you that are not familiar with the area, it is more of an industrial area that now has about a dozen hotels because of the convenient location. I could see where some families might be a little uncomfortable, especially if you expected to walk around in the area (which there would be no need to), but the hotel grounds felt very safe and there were 2 close restaurants (a diner, and seafood restaurant) right across the street.

All in all, this isn't a high-end hotel in an attractive neighborhood or business district (and I believe it is no longer a Wyndham property), but for those that are budget conscience, looking for value, and looking for a hotel near downtown or close to the airport, this is probably the best hotel for the price in Sacramento.

Mark

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    318
    197
    92
    62
See reviews for
272
211
83
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was great. The rooms are spacious and all rooms have microwave and fridge in them. The bed was very comfy also. In the morning they have a full buffett breakfast with lots of choices. Front desk people were nice and friendly. We had a great carefree time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I spent 2 nights, 3 days at the Hawthorn Suites during a business trip to Sac. In fact, my business meetings took place at the hotel. Keep in mind, this is only a 2 1/2 star hotel and at this level (particularly considering the reasonable price), it did not disappoint. Our two business lunches (Day 1 and Day 2) were catered by the hotel. The food they served was plentiful, fresh and of good quality (the fresh garden salad salad and sandwich selection, in particular). I wasn't crazy about the cheese enchiladas or refriend beans but the brownies are great and the coffee is better than average! My bed was very comfortable and my room was roomy and quiet at night. The internet connection was slow in my room (whether wired or wireless) but adequately fast in the lobby/lounge area and free! There wasn't much in the way of toiletries provided so I'm glad I brought my own! (Might I suggest suitearrival.com - they will pre-ship toiletries and snacks to your hotel for you and they'll be waiting for you when you arrive). Their weekday evening reception includes complimentary wine or beer. In the morning, between 6a & 9a, a complimentary breakfast buffet is served which includes scrambled eggs w/ melted cheddar cheese on top, plus sausage, and either biscuits & gravy or french toast. Also you can make toast in their toaster with either white or wheat bread or english muffins. I appreciate the fact that they also provide a selection of fresh fruit and fruit juice, peanut butter, and jam, and flavored cream for coffee. Across the street from the hotel are two restaurants that are good choices for dinner if you'd rather not shuttle it or walk into downtown or Old Town Sacramento. The Monterey Bay Canners Restaurant has a Happy Hour on weekdays that goes from 4pm - 6pm with good prices on a select number of appetizers. For dinner, try their Caesar Salad and Teriyaki Salmon. Very good!
I also appreciate the fact that the hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and also to/from downtown or Old Town Sacramento.
Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would be happy to come back and do this all over again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed the night to park and catch the early flight to Hawaii. Yucky spots on the pillow case. Also, a little disorganized on the info regarding parking our car long term. Had to pull teeth to get any info out of the front desk clerk. Definitely understaffed. Breakfast was powdered eggs, toast, cold cereal and bananas. Waited almost an hour at the Sac Airport for the shuttle upon our return from Hawaii, and then they didn't have room for everyone. We eventually squeezed everyone on with four kids sitting on laps. Next time I'll get the family up at 4am for the drive to the airport - missed zzzz's would be better than staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WAYNE
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Employees went out of way to make things great; rooms spacious with great beds; hot breakfast, free happy hour with food; very nice place for the money, as good as Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed on 3/7/09. The walls are paper thin, between the snoring in the next room and the "bowling tournament" above us all night, we didn't sleep at all. The shower was a MOLD incrusted disgusting mess. Never stay there again, and I don't suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed for three days with two toddlers. The room was clean, but the breakfast was not very good. That would be my only complaint. The hotel is very close to downtown Sacramento and all the attractions: Old Sacramento, Sutter's Fort, Land Park, the Capitol. Probably having your own car is necessary.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento

Address: 321 Bercut Drive, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.