We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much what you'd expect from a HIE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   728 16th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Richmond, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pretty much what you'd expect from a HIE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was pretty pleased with my stay at this hotel. The gentleman at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful- the rest of the staff was very nice as well. The rooms have been remodeled fairly recently- everything was clean and modern and they offered free wifi. There was plenty of parking both day and night. The only thing that I could possibly complain about is that the air conditioning was loud- it isn't a box or anything but whenever the air would kick on, it was a bit loud but nothing that was too distracting.

The continental breakfast was what I've come to expect from HIE:

Hot items: turkey sausage or bacon (depending on the day), eggs, hot biscuits (sometimes they got a bit hard under the heat lamp), cinnamon rolls and breakfast gravy. They also have a pancake maker but I didn't use it. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate options.

Cold/Room Temp: 3 or 4 cold cereal options, 3 hot cereal options, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs and a variety of breakfast breads. Milk and juice options, although I'd steer clear of the juice because all varieties are pretty watery (cranberry was the worst).

Checkout was quick and easy- no trouble during my stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonprimm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
travelmomSL,
Thank you for staying with us and for the great rating!
We are very happy that your needs were met and that your stay was good!
If you are in the Sacramento area again, we invite you to stay with us and hope that you introduce yourself so that we may say thank you in person.
Jon Primm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
20
36
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not my favourite chain. Staff was friendly and helpful, but room itself was a bit run down and needed some freshening up. HIE breakfast is what I call plastic meals, all tastes like plastic :) Not my type of hotel, but will do for one night stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear KristaE70,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am glad you liked our friendly staff service. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed overnight for business. Room was comfortable. Enjoyed the free WiFi and free breakfast the following day. Breakfast included a automated pancake maker, which was interesting and turned out surpisingly good pancakes. Staff was friendly. Free parking was a plus, also. Just 3 blocks to Sacramento convention center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonprimm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
WisconsinsFinest,
Thank you for your rating!
I must say that my four year old also thinks the pancake machine is pretty cool and the pancakes are really good!
Have a great day,
Jon Primm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms in this property have been completely remodeled. When I complimented the check in employee on the remodeling job, he said that the lobby will also be remodeled in the near future. Bedding was great, bathroom was brand new, AC worked well, and the hotel is also conveniently located: a 10-15 minute walk from the Convention Center, a 5 minutes walk from the CA Governor's Mansion (now a museum), plus very close to a mini "restaurant row" that begins on corner of 16th & J (where Starbucks is conveniently located). I got take-out 3x from nearby Mikuni Japanese restaurant (right next to Starbucks; 1530 J St.). Even the free breakfast buffet, which I normally avoid in hotels, was decent: I got a hot cinnamon roll every morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonprimm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Karen J,
Thank you for the fantastic rating. We are very happy that your stay was what you expected and that we hopefully exceeded those expectations!
We look forward to a return visit!
Jon Primm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Today as I checked in Michael Roberds was amazingly helpful and patient, he answered all my questions with a smile. I'm not from this area and he provided much helpful information. I loved the service, food, room, and security I got from here, I expected all the amenities, but the customer service from Michael was phenomenal. I will make my first choice holiday inn express in my future travels

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonprimm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
chrissarabia,
Thank you!
We think Michael is pretty special also!
He is our rock on the "overnight" shift!
Jon Primm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros: fairly clean, wi-fi provided complimentary (good coverage), parking is free.
Cons: no loyalty credits is you booked throughout 3rd party websites. Breakfast choice is limited to eggs, cereals, chemically looking juices but no fruits were provided. You feel like you are in Nova Scotia In the middle of winter. Breakfast hours are 6:30-9:30am and strictly enforced (all items were removed promptly at 9:30am.)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear MarcusSF,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and it's amenities adequate.

However, I regret that your breakfast experience was not at par with expectations.

Again, thank you and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Sacramento.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel seems like an older hotel that has been renovated. The rooms are nice, breakfast is adequate, and the staff is friendly. Also, it is located in a convenient part of downtown but it could be little noisy because of people hanging out on the streets or nearby bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonprimm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
HardeepM,
Thank you for the outstanding review!
Jon Primm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center

Address: 728 16th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Sacramento, a favorite of both Business and Leisure Travelers, Tour and Convention Groups and considered by many as Sacramento s Best Value . We are centrally located across from the historic Governors Mansion and walking distance to the Sacramento Convention Center, Civic Auditorium, State Capital, Government Offices, Wells Fargo Pavilion, Music Circus, Restaurants, Shopping, Movie Theaters and Starbucks. Convenient to historic 'Old Town Sacramento', Sacramento Jazz Festival, Arden Mall, Cal Expo, Raley Fields, Cal State University, UC Davis, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento Zoo, California State Parks, Thunder Valley and Black Oaks casinos. Enjoy our Complimentary Breakfast Bar with a wide variety of hot and cold items while catching up with the news reading your complimentary USA Today. Rooms are beautifully decorated and feature in-room coffee service, hair dryer, irons and ironing boards, on-demand pay movies and free wireless Internet access. We also have a business center, fitness facility and free parking. Pets are welcome and we re a 100% non-smoking, AAA approved hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.