We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good alternative hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Attending business meeting and downtown Sacramento hotels were booked with hampton recommended. Very nice hotel and amenities but not located in a very nice neighborhood with very little access to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    62
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
62
22
21
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean with a friendly staff. The neighborhood is a bit dodgy, and nothing you can walk to nearby. My room was supposedly a "whirlpool studio", but it's just a basic one-person (small) tub with a few jets. Not what you'd expect. Not a very appealing breakfast offering, but these hotel spreads rarely are. Their rates are high for what they offer. You'd do better at the Doubletree on 2001 Point West Way

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gvickerman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Upon arrival the outside appearance was welcoming. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was more than expected. It had a very good variety then what a simple continental breakfast offers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the arrival to departure, of this adventure, this hotel met our needs. The room was pleasant and smelled wonderful. The bed was not as comfortable as I was hoping but it wasn't bad. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise although seating was poor. Big combination seating tables and terrible chairs. This was the least pleasing part of the stay. No granola, poor bread choices, and inadequate cereal choices. Other than a sub-standard breakfast our stay was what we expected from this type of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was in Sacramento for two days on business. I thought I would check out this hotel based on the reviews.

The hotel is right off of the freeway. I find this a plus as it is easy to get in and out. The hotel is clean and up to date. Rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a happy hour at the hotel where you can get basic appetizers and free beer. Breakfast is not bad. Most importantly, it is fresh.

The major downside is that the WiFi is rotten. The hotel simply does not have enough bandwidth to go around when there is a full house at the hotel. The owners are likely cheap and are not willing to spend the extra money needed for guests to have proper internet connection. Considering that a majority of business travelers rely on the internet is some way, shape, or form, this is a true negative for the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have mixed reviews of this hotel. We had booked it for an overnight stay with 50 high school kids who were going to visit colleges the following day in the area. On our arrival I was blown away at how shabby the hotel looked. The room numbers were printed and taped to the doors (as a teacher mentioned...someone could have had a lot of fun with that one!) and the hallways had a strong chemical smell, no baseboards and white powder all along the corridor. We realized that they were under renovation, but it would have been nice for the heads up. Once we found the elevator to go upstairs the door opened to what seemed like a white wall. A little unnerving to me. We pushed on it and it opened. For whatever reason there was a door that could close over the elevator door, which was kind of strange. Once in the rooms they were beautiful and clean. The only thing I noticed that they lacked were pens and paper in the drawers. The other weird touch they had added was a post it note stuck to each headboard that read, "Duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival" Seriously? We shouldn't expect that? My room mate suggested it was maybe to assure us that even though the hallways were dusty and dirty, the beds were clean. Overall I thought it was funny. Other than that, the kids had a blast at the pool, a few used the fitness room and the next morning the staff set up the hotel's meeting room for us to eat our free breakfast. I think it will be really nice once the remodel is done. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating for value and cleanliness is because it shouldn't have been so expensive during the remodel and the hallways were really shabby looking/smelling. It would have been nice if the booking agent would have given me a heads up. I don't care for surprises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at many Hampton Inn ansd Suites and they have yet to disapoint. They are also friendly, provide a great product. The breakfast and evening meals are always appreciated because you can come in relax and not have to worry about deciding where to go to eat after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Address: 2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites offers you the best during your stay in Sacramento! Your Group will receive: Complimentary FULL Hot Breakfast Bar (that includes waffles), luxurious Cloud 9 Bedding, We Also Feature: • 70 Tastefully Decorated Guest Rooms • Complimentary Wireless Internet Connectivity for our Guests • Business Center • On site Fitness Center • Fridge & Microwave • In-room Coffee Makers • Blow Dryers • Irons and Ironing Boards • Outdoor Pool • Indoor Corridors • Guest Laundry Facility • Complimentary Parking • Easy Freeway Access from Business 80 (Capitol City Freeway), I-80 and Hwy 160. NO NEED TO WORRY ABOUT YOUR LOCATION, we are a short distance to Downtown, Malls and Restaurants - Let US Take Care of YOU! We offer our Hotel Shuttle with a fee and is based upon availability with advance reservations only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd.
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd. Hotel Sacramento
Hampton Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.