We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably Nice After Remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Santa Maria, United States
1 review
“Probably Nice After Remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have mixed reviews of this hotel. We had booked it for an overnight stay with 50 high school kids who were going to visit colleges the following day in the area. On our arrival I was blown away at how shabby the hotel looked. The room numbers were printed and taped to the doors (as a teacher mentioned...someone could have had a lot of fun with that one!) and the hallways had a strong chemical smell, no baseboards and white powder all along the corridor. We realized that they were under renovation, but it would have been nice for the heads up. Once we found the elevator to go upstairs the door opened to what seemed like a white wall. A little unnerving to me. We pushed on it and it opened. For whatever reason there was a door that could close over the elevator door, which was kind of strange. Once in the rooms they were beautiful and clean. The only thing I noticed that they lacked were pens and paper in the drawers. The other weird touch they had added was a post it note stuck to each headboard that read, "Duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival" Seriously? We shouldn't expect that? My room mate suggested it was maybe to assure us that even though the hallways were dusty and dirty, the beds were clean. Overall I thought it was funny. Other than that, the kids had a blast at the pool, a few used the fitness room and the next morning the staff set up the hotel's meeting room for us to eat our free breakfast. I think it will be really nice once the remodel is done. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating for value and cleanliness is because it shouldn't have been so expensive during the remodel and the hallways were really shabby looking/smelling. It would have been nice if the booking agent would have given me a heads up. I don't care for surprises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    50
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
51
19
20
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at many Hampton Inn ansd Suites and they have yet to disapoint. They are also friendly, provide a great product. The breakfast and evening meals are always appreciated because you can come in relax and not have to worry about deciding where to go to eat after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very reasonable, quality rooms at a competitive rate! I've stayed here multiple times for business and never had a problem. The rooms are very nice suites with seperate sitting area. The beds are extremely comfy! Location is also ideal as it is close to freeway entrance/exits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerritos, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

this was the hampton inn right off of the freeway. great low cost hotel with a wonderful staff. the property was secure and clean. having the complimentary breakfast with 2 kids is great addition. be advised that their lobby is still under remodel so breakfast time can get a little crowded. other than that, good bargain, good hotel and good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business trip to Sacramento. This is great place to be. I love my stay, room was clean and beds were comfortable. Front desk clerk was very professional and quick. Hotel location is very convenient. easy access to Business 80. breakfast was good. will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Outstanding property. It was under renovation, but still cared for all of the customers needs. It was very quiet, comfortable and clean. The room was clean and well cared for. The furnishings were if not new looked it and the again all areas of the room were spotless. Good water pressure and never ran out of hot water. No homeless or street irchins hanging around.

Room Tip: Pick any room from what I saw the facilty is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

NICE property with new lobby and staff that gets hospitality! Breakfast was OK, and everyone in my group (21 rooms for three nights) was totally happy. When we needed extra towels, they were ready...when the meeting room was empty, they just let us use it...we will be back and I don't understand the less than favorable reviews! THANKS, Cal expo Hampton...my groups will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Address: 2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites offers you the best during your stay in Sacramento! Your Group will receive: Complimentary FULL Hot Breakfast Bar (that includes waffles), luxurious Cloud 9 Bedding, We Also Feature: • 70 Tastefully Decorated Guest Rooms • Complimentary Wireless Internet Connectivity for our Guests • Business Center • On site Fitness Center • Fridge & Microwave • In-room Coffee Makers • Blow Dryers • Irons and Ironing Boards • Outdoor Pool • Indoor Corridors • Guest Laundry Facility • Complimentary Parking • Easy Freeway Access from Business 80 (Capitol City Freeway), I-80 and Hwy 160. NO NEED TO WORRY ABOUT YOUR LOCATION, we are a short distance to Downtown, Malls and Restaurants - Let US Take Care of YOU! We offer our Hotel Shuttle with a fee and is based upon availability with advance reservations only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd. Hotel Sacramento
Hampton Inn And Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd.
Hampton Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.