We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit My Needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members save 10%
Ranked #5 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fit My Needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yes, this hotel was undergoing renovations, but only in the lobby. The hotel room was nice, clean and spacious. Nicely equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. The hotel staff were pleasant and courteous. The complimentary hot breakfast in the morning was very filling and convenient. There were also complimentary cookies in the afternoon. There is nothing close to walk to, but I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
14
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel lobby was undergoing renovations and furniture in the room was in need of repair/update. There were workmen there during the day and the walls were stripped of wallpaper - making for an unappealing look. Wouldn't stay there again unless the entire hotel gets updated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank You for your honest feedback regarding your personal experience at the Inn. We refer to our current project as our "Remix Lobby Renovations." We agree that construction and workmen are apparent at the Inn. We try to keep noise levels and dust to a minimum during the project. We hope to have an opportunity to show you that our product offers a consitent experience you expect ~ designed to delight all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee!

In reference to your concerns regarding repair and updates in furnishings, We would love to know where we fell short of expectation so we can improve it. Our furnishings are branded Thomasville and are not factory made but rather hand picked by our Design, Purchsing Agent, Ownership & Mangement Team to be considered a cut above most. Our new modern lobby furniture will be showcased as the final phase of the project. Please know, We do try to alert our prospective guests on our web page with notifications of minor construction so you won't be surprised and hope that this assists with information?

During your next visit, please stop by and say hello, grab a complimentary cup of coffee and have a cookie on the house.. Give us a second chance to show you how proud we are of our staff and property and share the positive improvements to come! Thank You so very much for your valuable input and please enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I traveled to Sacramento on business in January with one of my associates. We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn. Both rooms were great. While the facility was going through some renovations, the staff went out of the way to make sure that we were well taken care of. The service is what makes this stay so good. Thanks goes out to all the staff.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I called a month in advance and paid for a suite, since my two adult children were with me- we needed three beds. When I arrived the young , rude hotel clerk told me that my reserved room had been given away. She put us in a room which had two queen beds. For three adults. I had been refused by Hilton Honors to use my points for the stay, saying that the points could not be used for a suite. And I was not given the suite I reserved


Later that evening I went to the lobby to get tea , and heard that same employee complaining to the security guard that another customer was complaining to her when she told him that she had given away his room. She was upset that the customer was complaining to her!

There was a group who had rented many of the rooms in the hotel. They consisted of a group of boys and girls, and a few adults. The children were running up and down the hallways all evening- until about 11:00. Then they started again about 4:00 am. They were apparently jumping repeatedly from the before to the floor in the room over mine for hours in the early morning- it was the sound of someone jumping repeatedly and NOT someone walking.

In the morning the adults finally managed to gathered the children- boys to one room and girls in another- about 10:00. They were running up and down the hallways the second night, too, repeating the same noisy behavior.
That was Christmas day.

The next day I called Hilton Honors to ask if they would use my points to pay for the stay, since the hotel did not give me the room I had reserved. I also told them about the rude hotel clerk and the noisy group. I was assured that I would not be charged for the stay. And that the issue would be resolved and someone would call me.

It took them three weeks to resolve the issue to my satisfaction. And nobody from the hotel ever called to apologize

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize this stay was not what you have come to expect from us. Though, due to guests extending their stay with us, we cannot always provide the requested rooms but always aim to handle these situations in the kindest way possible. We are very sorry you did not receive this typical level of service. Our goal is to provide every guest with a comfortable stay from check-in to check-out and we're very sorry yours was compromised due to noise and room availability. Please reach out if there is anything further we can do to assist you. Thank you so very much.


Ellen Ann Holmes
Hampton Inn and Suites Cal Expo Sacramento
ellen.holmes@hilton.com
(916) 927-2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a business appointment in Sacramento on a Monday and decided to drive down from LA on Saturday to get some rest before my meeting. I chose Hampton Inn because I've stayed at Hampton Inns in Texas,Burbank, Las Vegas and I really like Hampton Inns.

I read the reviews before I booked my room and asked for a room on the quiet side. Even with the heater on I slept like a rock. The King Single was spacious. I only sat in the desk chair while there. It was comfortable enough. The Wifi worked every time, no problems. Breakfast was good both mornings, and I arranged for a late check-out so I could change my clothes after my meeting before driving back to LA, again without a problem.

The hotel is just off of Business Hwy 80, which was convenient for me to get to my meeting downtown. It took maybe 10-15 minutes to get downtown, and another few to find adequate parking.

I enjoyed my stay there and will most likely stay there next time I go to Sacramento.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet. Ask to stay on the side of the hotel away from highway Business 80 if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving Break. Eventhough they started renovations the day after we checked it, we never heard the workers from our room. And we were just down the hall on the first floor. We also did not hear the freeway that was next to the hotel. We had a very quiet night's sleep. Our room was a great temperature. The beds were VERY comfortable. The towels were thick and soft. The room was clean. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. The breakfast was great. We had a different egg and protein dish every day. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have stayed at this Hampton several times for multiple days and found service and cleanliness always excellent. Property is well maintained and staff very friendly and helpful. Inn is located next I-80(Business) and have never had any problem with noise.

Room Tip: Staff is excellent! King Suites a good bargain. Free breakfast is professionaly maintained with qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo

Address: 2230 Auburn Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites offers you the best during your stay in Sacramento! Your Group will receive: Complimentary FULL Hot Breakfast Bar (that includes waffles), luxurious Cloud 9 Bedding, We Also Feature: • 70 Tastefully Decorated Guest Rooms • Complimentary Wireless Internet Connectivity for our Guests • Business Center • On site Fitness Center • Fridge & Microwave • In-room Coffee Makers • Blow Dryers • Irons and Ironing Boards • Outdoor Pool • Indoor Corridors • Guest Laundry Facility • Complimentary Parking • Easy Freeway Access from Business 80 (Capitol City Freeway), I-80 and Hwy 160. NO NEED TO WORRY ABOUT YOUR LOCATION, we are a short distance to Downtown, Malls and Restaurants - Let US Take Care of YOU! We offer our Hotel Shuttle with a fee and is based upon availability with advance reservations only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd. Hotel Sacramento
Hampton Inn And Suites Sacramento-Auburn Blvd.
Hampton Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.