We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare necessities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7780 Stockton Blvd, SR 99/Golden State Highway at Mack Road, Sacramento, CA 95823 (Formerly Motel 6 Sacramento Southwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Livermore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bare necessities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hardwood floors(cold),heater ran all night(had to unplug),very few amenities.Was checked into room that was not cleaned,moved me to another.Very noisy as it is on the corner of a very large intersection.Getting in and out of parking lot is tricky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We apologize for our staff member's mistake, and are glad to hear it was corrected. We appreciate your comments and feedback and would have liked to have been informed of any problem in your room, so that we could fix it right away. Since our hotel is located near busy streets, we have installed dual-pane windows to reduce noise. Also, since we are an outdoor corridor property, we have security at night for your safety and convenience. We also have a convenient back entrance to our property to help decrease traffic for our guests. We apologize for the unpleasantness of your stay and hope that your next stay with us will be more positive. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
3
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in October for baseball in Sacto. Great room. Nice flat screen. One mix up. Had requested a non-smoking room but room stank of cigs. Front desk offered to change out rooms but I was running late to the game so I had housekeeping spray it down, instead. Be aware that this property is not in an upscale neighborhood and pay attention to your surroundings. Parking lot entrance can be tricky esp. when traffic is heavy.

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs facing the intersection as close as possible to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities, however we do apologize for the cigarette smell in your room. Since we are an outdoor corridor property, we have security at night for your safety and convenience. We also have a convenient back entrance to our property to help decrease traffic for our guests. We hope you had a good ball game and apologize for any unpleasantness during your stay and hope that your next stay with us will be more positive. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying hear and just heard a fight, glass break. You can also hear everything through the paper thin walls so tomorrow will be a long drive. Busy street right by the hotel makes for an even MORE noisy night. NOT worth the $50 worst experience in a hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Since our hotel is located near busy streets, we have installed dual-pane windows to reduce noise. Also, since we are an outdoor corridor property, we have security at night for your safety and convenience. We apologize for the unpleasantness of your stay and hope that your next stay with us will be more positive. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

i stay in motels 5 days a week for almost two years now due to work. i cant afford te nice nice motels so i usual go on the lower end of things and it is always a disappointment. so i naturally went to red roof expecting the same. this was the niciest staff!!the niceiest bed rooms i have ever seen. for 70$ they were easily worth 150 a night!!i i loved it so much i spent most they 2 days in it. everything was amazing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima P, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Red Roof Inn Sacramento- Elk Grove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our rooms are newly remodeled with flat screen TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers in each room. We are glad that you had a positive experience with our staff, as we strive to be the best in customer service. Hopefully you stay with us again during your business trips. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chili
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The motel is attractive on the outside - particularly at night. This is somewhat negated by the need of a on-site security guard. There appears to be a somewhat questionable clientele - not exactly threatening, but a bit scary in their appearance and behavior.

We stayed in what was described as an accessible room. Though it may have met some ADA standard for an accessible room, but it the space felt crowded and misused. The presence of a chair (be it an office chair or a wheel chair) made it impossible to open or close the bathroom door. The distance between the bed and the TV stand would likely not support the use of a wheel chair or motorized scooter. The bathroom was roomy - but getting to it would be a significant problem.

Since my disability does not require the use of a wheel chair, the motel did supply an office chair upon request. The "desk" space adjoins the same wall as the bathroom door and using the desk and chair, as noted above, makes accessing the roomy bathroom difficult.

The other problem was regular observance of bugs in the room - spiders, beetles, ants, etc. showed up regularly during our stay. Never a great quantity, but on a daily basis, none the less, the bugs showed up in the bathroom, on the bedding, on the walls and ceiling, and on the clothing hanging on the clothes rack on hangers.

The free breakfast was heavy on carbohydrates - cereal and breakfast rolls.

The personnel were helpful - in providing directions, answering questions, and being patient as we spent extra time in the lobby because of tight confines of the room. They provided helpful reference to a local taxi service that arrived quickly and, apparently, knew the metropolitan area well. When we first arrived, the free Internet was very intermittent, though a day or two later this seemed to resolve itself.

Room Tip: Check directions for State Route 99 - going North or South means taking different roads away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Motel on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your suggestions and your opinion is important to us. I would like to begin by apologizing for any discomfort you had to endure during your stay. To make sure that our guest in the ADA rooms have a better experience I am currently working on improving the entrance to the bathroom and changing the way the doors open so that it is easier to access it.
However, insects in the room from time to time is not our property norm and I wish that we were informed right away so that we could have taken care of that problem. I do apologies once again.
I would also like to say thank you for staying with us and giving a positive feedback on our staff decorum. I will make sure to thank them on your behalf for providing our guest with great customer service.
I hope that we will see you again and that your future experience will be more positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn for four days. The staff was helpful and the room I had was amazing.
The best experience ever for the money. If you are looking for a really great place to stay with a great staff and beautiful rooms I would recommend you stay here. You are close to so many places to eat and just few minutes to downtown. The front desk staff gave me excellent customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Red Roof Inn of Sacramento. I am very pleased to hear that you thought our rooms were amazing. We are newly renovated property so the rooms have a very modern look and design. In regards to our rates they are very reasonable in comparison to other inns especially the ones that are closer to Downtown area. Thank you, once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice and friendly atmosphere, front desk employee was helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. FREE CONTINENTAL Breakfast. Next business trip will be staying at the same place. Keep a good work.

Room Tip: Keep a good work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anish P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Red Roof Inn of Sacramento. I am so glad to hear that you had a pleasent stay at our Hotel. Our staff works very hard to make sure the rooms are clean and to provide all our guest with friendly service. We appreciate your business and would love to have you stay with us again. So, we hope to see you soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove

Address: 7780 Stockton Blvd, SR 99/Golden State Highway at Mack Road, Sacramento, CA 95823 (Formerly Motel 6 Sacramento Southwest)
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to so many Sacramento area businesses and attractions! Red Roof Sacramento - Elk Grove is close to Old Town Sacramento, Arden Fair Mall, Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Sacramento County Fairgrounds, Funderland, Sacramento Zoo, the California Military Museum, Discovery Park, and Water World USA. For business travelers, you’ll find we’re convenient to Cal State University UOP of Sacramento, McClellan Air Force Base, Sacramento International Airport, and the Sacramento Convention Center. You’ll find we provide all our guests with great customer service—come enjoy our flat screen TVs in all rooms, continental breakfast, and many room amenities. We’re looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sacramento
Motel Six Sacramento
Sacramento Motel Six
Sacramento Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.