We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bargain in Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Sacramento South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Sacramento South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Sacramento South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7407 Elsie Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95828   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Blythe, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Bargain in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for a low cost room for the night, this place, like all Motel 6's is just fine. I have stayed here many times and I find the rooms to be just like many Motel 6's I have stayed in. Occasionally, I have stayed in a brand new Motel 6, or one in a really touristy area, and those are sometimes nicer. It is true that this particular Motel has prostitutes operating out of the place, but I have never felt unsafe or uncomfortable in any way. They do have a security guard that patrols the parking lot at night, and I park my car there with no worries. I admit that I prefer the amenities, location, feel, etc., of a higher cost hotel such as the Fairfield Inn or the Hilton which are close by, but I will spend more than twice as much to stay at the nicer hotels. In sum, if you are looking for the best bargain room in town, this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side are quieter and I feel safer being on that side since it is in clear view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

i made a reservation for two beds they had me down for one. it was drugs and prostitutes. they gave me an upstairs room the people downstairs complained about my kids so much that they wanted to evict us after i paid. they wouldn't except my credit card i had to locate a atm a half mile away. coffee was available no cups 1 ice machine. maid never came to clean my husband and i asked 6 times. i would never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was robbed within two minutes of being there. Went to get help from managment and was told we could not review there security footage. My car keys were one of items stolen so while sitting by the car to make sure it wasn't taken we saw prostitutes and everything else you can imagine. I did not even dare to go to sleep but had to stay there until I could get new keys for my car the next day. Management was absoultely no help. The officer that took my report asked what in the world we were doing in this part of town. They need a big sign saying do not exit here HIGH CRIME AREA!!! Would not be surprised to find out management is involved with everything going on there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Sacramento South, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Blane F - We apologize for the security and service issues you experienced during your stay with us. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Ca
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're a prostitute or john, you'll love this Motel 6. But if you're not, and are awakened several times in the middle of the night by a woman alternately screaming as if being stabbed and giggling in the room next door, don't complain or ask for another room or you'll be put on the motel's "Do not rent" list. Even if you've stayed there many times in the past, the manager apparently makes more money renting rooms to "that nice elderly Japanese gentleman" who couldn't possibly have a prostitute or very enthusiastic girlfriend in his room and he'll wait until the morning of the reservation you made 4 weeks before to have the Cancellation desk call you and inform you your reservation has been canceled because of a disturbance the time you stayed there 3 weeks earlier. And don't bother calling Guest Relations either, because they'll say they can't do anything and you'll have to talk with the manager. That would be the same manager who repeatedly refused to speak to you because he doesn't want to admit that Tom Bodett leaves the light on for prostitutes and their customers but not for people who complain about them.

But if you are turned away, there is a new Red Roof Inn a half block away that charges only $10 more and is a way better deal with nicer rooms and amenities like WiFi, flat-screen TV, microwave, fridge, continental breakfast, friendly staff, and an ever-present security guard. And pets are welcome. Actually, Motel 6 did me a big favor by refusing to rent to me.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are further from freeway noise but out of view of watchful eyes - more conducive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed few times at Motel 6 in numerous locations and have had good experience; so looking for just a place to sleep and then depart, I looked for a Motel 6 in the area so it can end up being a reasonable stay. When I walked in to register, I did not feel welcome - I had to say hello and then received a very cold hello back. I had specifically reserved a room with 2 beds (2 children in tow) and non-smoking. The room looked clean but when it came time for sleeping, I couldn't sleep as my pillow reeked of smell of cigarette. I did find it odd that there was an ashtray in a supposed non-smoking room. When I checkout & was asked if I find everything to my liking, I did mention the pillow & I was told that I should have called the desk & asked for another pillow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The manager was rude and unprofessional!!
We were a large group and we had reservations. We got here at 3pm to check in they told us rooms weren't ready and to come back at 4pm!! WTH!! Our rooms smell and the management sucks!! I don't care if its a cheap motel it's called customer service!! I can see now that I should have done my homeworker this place got a lot of bad reviews!! Not surprised

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was, by far, the most disgusting hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. My husband, two children and myself needed basic accomodations. This motel did not even fit that bill. I found hair and bugs in the shower, a cockroach next to the bedside table, a previous guests' litter behind the side table and next to the bed. The sheets had holes in them, the mattresses were stained with who knows what.The "non-smoking" room smells like smoke and wet dog. On a positive note, I checked for bed bugs and found none, I think. I'm pretty sure we saw drug deals and a little prostitute business going on. On our return from the LMFAO concert we went to Sacramento to see, a police officer questioned our return into the Motel 6 parking lot. This is a great motel if you want a dingy place to sell drugs or turn tricks. One other positive thing-the front desk people were nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Sacramento South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sacramento South

Address: 7407 Elsie Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95828
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sacramento South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Sacramento South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento Motel 6
Sacramento Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Sacramento South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.