We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters to prostitutes and johns” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Sacramento South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Sacramento South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Sacramento South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7407 Elsie Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95828   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Fulton, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caters to prostitutes and johns”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're a prostitute or john, you'll love this Motel 6. But if you're not, and are awakened several times in the middle of the night by a woman alternately screaming as if being stabbed and giggling in the room next door, don't complain or ask for another room or you'll be put on the motel's "Do not rent" list. Even if you've stayed there many times in the past, the manager apparently makes more money renting rooms to "that nice elderly Japanese gentleman" who couldn't possibly have a prostitute or very enthusiastic girlfriend in his room and he'll wait until the morning of the reservation you made 4 weeks before to have the Cancellation desk call you and inform you your reservation has been canceled because of a disturbance the time you stayed there 3 weeks earlier. And don't bother calling Guest Relations either, because they'll say they can't do anything and you'll have to talk with the manager. That would be the same manager who repeatedly refused to speak to you because he doesn't want to admit that Tom Bodett leaves the light on for prostitutes and their customers but not for people who complain about them.

But if you are turned away, there is a new Red Roof Inn a half block away that charges only $10 more and is a way better deal with nicer rooms and amenities like WiFi, flat-screen TV, microwave, fridge, continental breakfast, friendly staff, and an ever-present security guard. And pets are welcome. Actually, Motel 6 did me a big favor by refusing to rent to me.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are further from freeway noise but out of view of watchful eyes - more conducive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed few times at Motel 6 in numerous locations and have had good experience; so looking for just a place to sleep and then depart, I looked for a Motel 6 in the area so it can end up being a reasonable stay. When I walked in to register, I did not feel welcome - I had to say hello and then received a very cold hello back. I had specifically reserved a room with 2 beds (2 children in tow) and non-smoking. The room looked clean but when it came time for sleeping, I couldn't sleep as my pillow reeked of smell of cigarette. I did find it odd that there was an ashtray in a supposed non-smoking room. When I checkout & was asked if I find everything to my liking, I did mention the pillow & I was told that I should have called the desk & asked for another pillow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margeskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The manager was rude and unprofessional!!
We were a large group and we had reservations. We got here at 3pm to check in they told us rooms weren't ready and to come back at 4pm!! WTH!! Our rooms smell and the management sucks!! I don't care if its a cheap motel it's called customer service!! I can see now that I should have done my homeworker this place got a lot of bad reviews!! Not surprised

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mssoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was, by far, the most disgusting hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. My husband, two children and myself needed basic accomodations. This motel did not even fit that bill. I found hair and bugs in the shower, a cockroach next to the bedside table, a previous guests' litter behind the side table and next to the bed. The sheets had holes in them, the mattresses were stained with who knows what.The "non-smoking" room smells like smoke and wet dog. On a positive note, I checked for bed bugs and found none, I think. I'm pretty sure we saw drug deals and a little prostitute business going on. On our return from the LMFAO concert we went to Sacramento to see, a police officer questioned our return into the Motel 6 parking lot. This is a great motel if you want a dingy place to sell drugs or turn tricks. One other positive thing-the front desk people were nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawnne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I saw what I believed to be prostitutes coming out of hotels. I saw several with children so I can only assume that they actually live in this motel 6.
I needed more towels and when I asked the lady with the cart who was coming around cleaning she said she had none to give.
I will never return to this motel 6 again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

the guest sevice team is always alsome and housekeepers keep getting friendler. I made friends with all workers there and I keep them as friends. Rooms where clean guard was on his job loved it.Well go back even to just say hi to new friends

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

I was not familiar with the area but this was close to the event we were going. Reservation was for 2 queen beds but at the desk was told none was available and that I should have called hotel directly to confirm availability. We went back and forth for a while until he says he was going to check and try to fix something for me as if he was doing me a favor. Finally got what we reserved for.
Place has a parking lot for truckers but only had 1 or 2 trucks outside. There were juvenile males hanging out on the 2nd floor with their bmx bikes. At night there were young males in hip hop attires hanging out of their door. Saw a street walker approached
a car on the lot. Didn't feel safe at this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ybanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Sacramento Elk Grove
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Sacramento
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Elk Grove Laguna I-5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
9.5 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#45 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Sacramento - Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sacramento South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sacramento South

Address: 7407 Elsie Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95828
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sacramento South 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Sacramento South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento Motel Six
Sacramento Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing