We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between the River and the Freeway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
SoCal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Between the River and the Freeway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent 5 nights here in July. Since I've been here before, I always try to get a room that does not face the freeway-the drone can be a distraction. The room itself was great. Bed was what I would expect from a Hilton property and the bathroom and living room were roomy and clean. On the down side, the wireless connection was horrible. I had to log in every 10 minutes IF I could get a connection-which did not happen two nights. The breakfast (always a big selling point with Embassy Suites) was just above the level of the La Quinta property I stayed at the previous month. My biggest beef (aside from the wi-fi) was with the evening reception. I've stayed at more than a handful of these properties and this one has one of the weakest selections of food and drink. The food consisted of veggies and dip plus chips/crackers each day. Why not pop a bit of variety for the multi-night guests? And perhaps a special drink for each night? It's worth a thought since breakfast and the reception are what really(?) set E.S. Apart from the competition.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    189
    63
    28
    12
See reviews for
152
99
22
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

While the hotel staff are exceptionally pleasant, I could not establish internet contact the first night when I got back late from my Convention. The lunch was costly but of terrible quality, the Shuttle always had an excuse for not taking us to the Convention site, the indoor pool water was exceptionally cold. When you pay so much for a room, you really don't expect these kinds of things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Only Embassy Suites I've stayed at that charges for internet service. Who does this? And if you are traveling on business like me don't ask for the government rate. It is apparently code to put you in the cheapest room and give the bare minimum service. They are definitely not encouraging a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus R, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Here at the Embassy Suites Sacramento, we take pride in giving our guests the best value for their money when traveling on business or with their family. This includes a complimentary full cooked to order breakfast, spacious two rooms suites, and free drinks every night from 5:30pm to 7:30pm.

We do apologize if you were not informed, or did not see on our website, that we do have a charge for internet. We highly recommend booking the wifi package so that internet is included for your entire stay for all devices.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will come back whenever you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while running a business conference in their conference area. The staff was AMAZING - super helpful, very nice, and very professional. The accommodations (both the rooms and conference area) were perfect, and the food was awesome. Definitely looking forward to next year's conference! This hotel is highly suggested by my company!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Embassy Suites in Sacramento on the river is a wonderful place to stay. You have the water right next door and endless shops and restaurants across the street, as well as bars and comedy. And the restaurant and bar in the hotel are so convenient. Great views and a beautiful lounge area. The staff could not be more accommodating and friendly. I had a wonderful time here and can't wait to return with more friends for more great memories.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus R, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We can't wait to have you back to share great memories as well. We are so happy to read this review. You enjoyed your stay and that's what our goal is for every guest that visits our property. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this property. From check in to check out and everything in between we were treated nicely. Great location. Enjoyed the view of the waterfront, shopping in Old Sacramento, great places to eat! Our friends who were celebrating their 40th anniversary had a great time as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus R, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I remember you sharing a wonderful story about your friends that we're celebrating their 40th anniversary at check in. I'm glad that you all had a wonderful weekend at our hotel. We hope that you visit us again next 4th of July, or even sooner if you are in the area. We appreciate your kind review and we thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great stay here and especially appreciated the helpful, friendly staff. The breakfast was the usual great Embassy Suites fare and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The fitness center is also very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus R, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We greatly appreciate it. Hopefully you will choose us again whenever you travel to Sacramento. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Address: 100 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade hotel is located on the Sacramento River across from historic Old Town Sacramento. This full-service upscale all-suite hotel is just minutes from the California State Capitol, ARCO Arena, Sacramento International Airport and the Cal Expo - California Exposition and State Fair. Guests of the Embassy Suites Sacramento hotel stay in spacious two-room suites and will enjoy many hotel amenities, services, and facilities in addition to our Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and Complimentary Nightly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade Hotel Sacramento
Embassy Suites Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.