We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get a $25 Gas Card
Ranked #11 of 84 hotels in Sacramento
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Downtown Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very nice and well appointed place to stay in downtown Sacramento. The atrium lobby is decorated to a higher level than most Embassy Suites I have seen and the hotel has a open spacious feel. I highly recommend it as a place to stay for business or leisure when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    157
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
128
79
21
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I need to lower my expectations of Embassy Suites. I have previously had great experiences but those days are long gone.
So, the good things in Sacramento - location was terrific and across the street from Old Town and the river walk, room was clean and like other ES the layout is quite roomy. The valet parking staff was responsive. The bar and staff were superb. The breakfast and staff were both appreciated.

The not so good - had reserved a river view room with free WiFi. Didn't get either even when I produced my confirmation. The desk clerk just glanced at it and said that for the price I wasn't entitled to that room, despite the confirmation I had in hand. Got to the assigned room with the direct view of the freeway, very noisy. We start to leave to go to Old Town and find the in room safe doesn't work. 20 minutes for maintenance response. Only one robe, asked for another, never received (I was asked if I as a Hilton Honors Club member, which I am, but it didn't make any difference.) Food was so so - we tried the bistro upon recommendation but just wasn't up to expectations for cost $$$$.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location if you are going to an event at Raley Field or want to visit Old Town. Beautiful riverfrom views from river-facing rooms. Very friendly and efficient staff. Enjoyed the breakfast. Everything was good EXCEPT the restaurant bar closed at 11pm. Too early. We wanted to sit and relax and had to go to our room. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Easy on and off the I-5 and located close to the State Capitol and Old Sacramento. The bistro has a nice bar and very good food. Friendly staff and clean rooms. You will enjoy the mangers reception and the cook to order breakfast is included. Several good restaurants are close by and you can walk to River Cat baseball games.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is quite nice. I didn't love the complimentary breakfast, and wish it were open later on weekdays, but all in all it's a good value for the money. The location is extremely convenient for visiting Old Town Sacramento, as it is literally across the street. No need to drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am currently staying in the Embassy Suites in Sacramento and am struck by how many of its features are better than those of the much-pricier properties of its sister Hilton hotels. First, of course, each room is a full suite, not just a room, with a small kitchen and a large living room and two closets as well as a bedroom and bath. The towels are thicker and nicer than most Hiltons, and, while Hiltons have been steadily eliminating coffee makers in the rooms, this Embassy Suites has nice Keurig individual coffee makers with plenty of pods. For Hilton Honors members they have a buffet where any time of the day or night you can help yourself to complimentary fruit, yogurt, snacks and drinks. The complimentary breakfasts are fairly good--not if you are a health fanatic but certainly a wide range of breakfast choices. The location couldn't be better--both on the river next to Sacramento's iconic bridge and beside the running trails along the river and on the Capitol Mall--the grand street leading up to the State Capitol. Rooms on the river and Mall side are quiet--avoid the ones on the freeway side. Staff is very nice--they rushed to get my room ready when I arrived even though it was before check in time--at the NY Hilton, in contrast, arriving early is more likely, in my experience, to get you a rebuke and a reminder that it isn't check in time yet.
The room has plenty of outlets for techies including by the bed. My only complaint is that the fitness center is not open 24 hours--bad for people coming from earlier time zones. (It is not a great fitness center either, but with the river trails right beside the hotel, and the fabulous Sacramento weather, that isn't a big deal.)

Room Tip: ask for the river side of the hotel, not the freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this hotel for location near capitol & the cooked to order breakfast & reception included in our rate. You can see the capitol from hear in all its glory & of course the river & freeway. When you book, you are given the option for possible upgrades if rooms are available. I chose Premium suite & was happy to learn when we arrived that we were upgraded. Yes there was a slightly extra charge but it was worth it.
We arrived with only 30 minutes left on the evening reception. There were basic snacks, (chips & veggies), soda & then mixed drinks, wine & beer. We had very good mixed drinks. We ended up eating dinner here as well & enjoyed that. The breakfast was good as well with a breakfast buffet & cooked to order omelettes. The upgrade also gave us access to free snacks, drinks & upgraded coffee/tea. If you've read my other reviews you probably have notice I like my coffee. In the rooms there is a keurig coffee maker with basic coffee that is ok. In the snack area there is starbuck dark roast so I was thrilled. (I would bring my own if all hotels were consistent in the types of machines they use).
The kids enjoyed the pool
My only complaint would be that in room #416 the bathroom door was very hard to close & since it is in the middle of the room it would be nice if there was a fan for an added sense of privacy. Oh & it was a slightly difficult to get here from North I-5 but that may have been my GPS's fault.

Room Tip: upgrade or request upgrade to premium suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade Hotel Sacramento
Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade Hotel
Embassy Suites Hotel Sacramento
Embassy Suites Sacramento
Sacramento Embassy Suites
Address: 100 Capitol Mall, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade hotel is located on the Sacramento River across from historic Old Town Sacramento. This full-service upscale all-suite hotel is just minutes from the California State Capitol, ARCO Arena, Sacramento International Airport and the Cal Expo - California Exposition and State Fair. Guests of the Embassy Suites Sacramento hotel stay in spacious two-room suites and will enjoy many hotel amenities, services, and facilities in addition to our Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and Complimentary Nightly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.