We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well located business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a comfortable hotel, close to the State Capitol and across the street from the Convention Center. I have had several banquet meals here, lunch is good, breakfast mediocre. My room was comfortable, though there can be a long wait to get an elevator at peak times. I took the stairs, ended up in an alley behind the hotel, which was unexpected and annoying. Also aggravating, I drove a Nissan Leaf electric car, they promised a recharging station in their garage. The charging station was not working. If you have an electric car there are many charging stations at the City Hall parking garage two blocks away.

Room Tip: Views will vary
See more room tips
Green Features: You can earn points or a bar credit for not changing your sheets each night.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    271
    93
    30
    29
See reviews for
75
112
51
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is great easy walking to capital and all legislative offices
Conference rooms were standard
But cold
bring a warm sweater or jacket
Rooms quiet not great water pressure in showers
Registration and bellman staff outstanding!

Food quality at conference was sporadic re quality staff very courteous

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We here at the Sheraton Grand are always striving to provide a comfortable and convenient experience for our guests. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall this was a great choice for a place to stay.

It is centrally located, right next to the convention centre, good restaurants. In house restaurant, Morgan's prepares terrific meals. Wi-Fi throughout and nice size room with large desk.

In terms of detractors: pool area is small and regrettably gets lots of shade, view from my room was unspectacular.

Staff have been very pleasant and helpful. Rates are excellent.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Your feedback regarding your experience will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My biggest issue wih this hotel is getting in a swim suit and realizing they only have a pool but NO HOT TUB. what kind of full service hotel does that. Couple of other issues with this hotel considering the price and location. Even with preferred membership (SPG) you have to pay $40 for access to the concierge club, per night! The club consists of the most basic breakfast option of old fruit, cereal and toast. In the evening they have cheese and A small appetizer which if you arrive late you may encounter the same rude lounge attendant that I did. The rooms are decent but they lack any sort of fridge and I was place in between an ice machine and a room that was being maintenanced. Valet is ridiculously priced and the staff is sub par. Choose Hyatt or the citizen when traveling to downtown Sac.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is apparent in this case that we fell short. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly and ask that you contact us at sgs.01247@sheraton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ Location to capital
+ Pet friendly
+ Bar and restaurant in hotel
+ Helps if you're a SPG member.

- Some parts outside look like Detroit.
- Self parking is around a block. $20 per night

Will stay here if we're in Sacramento.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Here at the Sheraton Grand we are always striving to give a comfortable and convenient experience for our guests. We will share your all of your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back for an even better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't arrange the booking, so this was a standard room on the club level not a suite as I usually stay in.
Getting there is pretty simple, and the valet station in front was quick and courteous. Note that the valet does NOT have call-ahead, you have to go down when you are ready and wait for your car. Fortunately it was just a few minutes, but this is different than many hotels so be prepared.
The lobby/bar/restaurant area was clean and open, nicely appointed, and again, very courteous staff. Good selection of wine and mixed drinks. The restaurant was good, again, a varied menu of interesting things. Unfortunately my chicken breast was so salty as to be nearly inedible, I managed half but it tasted nearly brined.
Room on the club level was large enough, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was good sized.
Bed was also fine. Outside noise was minimal to none, though the hallway noise does penetrate.
The little "club room" was fine to grab coffee and juice in the morning. I would appreciate if it were kept open later, grabbing something to drink after dinner would have been nice.
Overall a very serviceable hotel, clean, with excellent staffing.

Green Features: Fully friendly on reusing towels and bedding, which is appreciated.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience in regards to your meal at the Public Market Bar, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon for a more exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very good business hotel with full amenities. Not really a family oriented place. If you are looking for a special ambiance or flavor, look elsewhere. In the parlance of the industry, they have a very good business traveler "product" . . . just a couple notches below the Hyatt hotel around the corner.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a comfortable and convenient experience at the Sheraton Grand. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.