We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I didn't arrange the booking, so this was a standard room on the club level not a suite as I usually stay in.
Getting there is pretty simple, and the valet station in front was quick and courteous. Note that the valet does NOT have call-ahead, you have to go down when you are ready and wait for your car. Fortunately it was just a few minutes, but this is different than many hotels so be prepared.
The lobby/bar/restaurant area was clean and open, nicely appointed, and again, very courteous staff. Good selection of wine and mixed drinks. The restaurant was good, again, a varied menu of interesting things. Unfortunately my chicken breast was so salty as to be nearly inedible, I managed half but it tasted nearly brined.
Room on the club level was large enough, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was good sized.
Bed was also fine. Outside noise was minimal to none, though the hallway noise does penetrate.
The little "club room" was fine to grab coffee and juice in the morning. I would appreciate if it were kept open later, grabbing something to drink after dinner would have been nice.
Overall a very serviceable hotel, clean, with excellent staffing.

Green Features: Fully friendly on reusing towels and bedding, which is appreciated.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience in regards to your meal at the Public Market Bar, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon for a more exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    268
    91
    29
    29
See reviews for
74
110
51
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A very good business hotel with full amenities. Not really a family oriented place. If you are looking for a special ambiance or flavor, look elsewhere. In the parlance of the industry, they have a very good business traveler "product" . . . just a couple notches below the Hyatt hotel around the corner.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you had a comfortable and convenient experience at the Sheraton Grand. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the past 4 years, my business has brought me to Sac and the Sheraton has been my home away from home for a week.

In case you have not been to downtown Sac, it is home of some of the most beautiful buildings (the state capitol) as well as a large homeless population. Staying close to the convention center is nice--one does not have to negotiate the sleeping housing impaired as much.

The Sheraton's staff has always been helpful and pleasant, but there are a few quirks that keep the rating lower than it could be:

-Ice not on every floor. If I'm staying at a cheap hotel, ice on every other floor might be OK, but for the kind of $$ I pay for this place it is unexceptable. After a long day at the convention center or the capitol, to have to go back up or down in the elevator (more on how those suck in a minute) is no bueno.

-4 elevators. Way too many rooms for only 4 elevators. The wait in the morning and evening is way too long. And if you're trying to get ice at 5:15 good luck!

-weak gym. A few treadmills and a couple of machines, does not a gym make. How about a shower, locker room, and steam or sauna?

-no gift shop. Forget something? Just go down to the gift shop--nope, you get to go outside, down the street (dodging the pan handlers) to the 7-11.

-beds. Not the quality expected for these kind of rates.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us regarding your experience with the Sheraton Grand. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at the sheraton hotel downtown Sacramento, this is our second time staying in this hotel .this hotel is perfect for our trip here to town.it counts with valet parking, restaurant, gym, pool.and is very clean.is very close to all the restaurants, bars and nightclubs. While we were in Sacramento we went to this restaurants that some friends recommended.
The dive bar-perfect to start good drinks and enjoy watching the mermaid above the bar swim.
Brodericks -best hamburgers in town.
Firestone public house -great food.
Zocalo -great mexican food
Pizza rock is a great place to a variety of pizzas.
And for sunday brunch this restaurant is the best.
Cafeteria 15L.
Just a reminder parking cost average from 20 to 30 dollars at day , in public parkings and 2.50 for two hours in a parking meter at the street.charges are from 8 am to 6:00pm.
Sundays are free .

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We are so glad to be able to provide you with a comfortable, central location downtown while you explore Sacramento! We hope to welcome you back again so that you may be able to experience more of our great restaurants and night-life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a cheap option, but has all the business essentials in a well presented package. Parking is in a garage across the street and is an extra $20 per day. Lobby is comfortable with ample space for a business meeting.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very proud of our historical Public Market Building and it is great to hear that you were able to enjoy it's spacious comforts. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lauren at the front desk was very efficient. He had those magic words - your room is ready- (early)
- you have club level
- I looked up your SPG number and added it to your reservation
- you have late checkout that I already set up for you
Enjoy your stay! How can you beat that! Magic touch and very welcoming

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Our staff strives to create a warm and welcoming experience for our guests and it is great to hear that they were able to provide that for you! Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Self Parking was a joke. Front desk staff did not synch up our card so we kept getting stuck every time we attempted to exit the lot. In the hotel, vanity mirror was broken, limp and dangling by a screw, bed had mold in it (YES I said MOLD), shower head was covered in mildew and lime, bed was not comfortable and to top it off, you know the room isn't cleaned thoroughly when there are layers of dust on the hand towel rack...seriously?!

Room Tip: higher floor - less street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: $5.00 credit or 500 starwood points if you let them know you do not want maid service daily
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I assure you that what you have experienced is neither standard nor acceptable. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent in this case that we fell short. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly and ask that you contact us at sgs.01247@sheraton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.