We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hayward CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good business trip: Clean, comfy, no surprises. Staff are friendly; eye contact and smile when passing in the hall or lobby. Comfy chair! Plus for paper re-cycle bin next to the trash bin under the desk! Nice meeting space(s) and good buffet food/snacks (deli style buffet w good vegetarian options). Room service was fast. Vegetarian options extended beyond salads to grilled cheese sandwich on the adult menu. Plenty of local delivery and being only 1 block from the Capitol, there are stores and restaurants everywhere.

Room Tip: Very quiet throughout the building, even close to elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: Solid green program. re-use towels and bedding on multi night stays. Re-cycle paper bin next to trash under desk!
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    259
    88
    28
    27
See reviews for
73
107
49
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Across the street from Convention Center, quick walk to front door. Very comfortable and clean room 2014. View of J St. Spacious area. Slept great. Sacramento may not be big city, but this area is city none the less and you will hear sirens. King bed had super comfy bedding. Loved the bathroom amenities. No problem with heat/ac. Booked AAA rate. Had access to Lounge with free evening snacks and breakfast. Great selection, enjoyed the exclusivity. One night stay. Only bad thing was price for parking. Be prepared to pay $25 of more depending if you choose self or valet. We didn't use it so can't comment on speed, but you will need to pay for Internet. Room service was quick at midnight, tasty and good menu selection. Valet guys extremely courteous and helpful. Check in was busy, but efficient. Clerk have was friendly and gave us a choice of upper or lower floor.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club Lounge! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If there were 7 stars I will give this hotel one. We came this Friday for Celtics game, checked in by Sydney who was amazing professional, greeted by Johnnie who made sure we get a excellent room with a view.

Outstanding staff, they sent as a very nice bottle of wine with cookies/milk for our young son. There pool is closed but offer a diffent option at Hyatt which is less then 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Hotel is convieniently located from all possible restaurants, 15 minutes walk ( with stroller) to Old Sacremento. Breakfast at Morgan was amazing with server getting small cup of juice with straw for our son without us even asking for it.

We would like to thank all team members and management for amazing hospitality and this is our number one destination when our visit brings us to Sacremento.
#thankyou #perfectionatitsbest #cheers #gosheraton

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good place, Nice rooms, however I always say that if you don't have it, don't post it. I want to use the pool, which was broke down, and recommend me use the neighbors's pool (Hyatt). But the rooms are very good, very clean impression, and of course the location is the best. Just that I can't give 5 stars if it's not perfect. Better luck next time!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! Here at the Sheraton Grand we are always striving to give a comfortable and convenient experience for our guests. We will share your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for my 16th anneversery and the staff was totally awesome polite great view had a mishap but they handled it with class perfect hotel its walking distance from everything great food awesome bar hotel is well kept can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were able to experience the stellar service of our friendly staff on your anniversary. Your feedback will be shared with our management team and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable room and clean bathroom.
Lots of eateries nearby . It's is a few blocks from old town,the museum and convention center. Club lounge had good selection for breakfast . Thank you Grace (club lounge)for excellent service!
Will definitely pick this place again on our next trip to Sacramento.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club Lounge and some of the great locations that we are located near! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

RICHARD HILL (BEAVER) LOREN COLVIN (SEA HORSE) CHAD DE VOE (WOLVERINE)

With apologies to our late friend Bob Hope! THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES! Year 2014, three stays plus Chalk It Up! Jazz Jubilee 2014, great stay! Too bad there may not be a Jazz Jubilee 2015! Club Level meals were great! Birthday Stay, was Sabrina Guerra (RED PANDA) checked me in! Nick Flitsch was helping another guest, so had another person take me to the room! Wow, what surprise, there was big bowl of bananas, oranges, apples, a tray of donut holes with sprinkles! When he knocked o the door about twenty minutes later, he said the food was his welcome gift to me! There were all the bar tenders! Brittany on the Sunday saying she had a surprise for the room! When room service call, say they have amenity for the room from Brittany, I ask how much I owe! Nothing, gift from Brittany! Was for me a supper! Melons, fruits, usual bowl bar snacks, bottle of R W Knudsen orange juice! Play Camp Counselor with Sacra History Museum! One the other adult counselors (there three teens and three other Adults) say, "Ask Sheraton if they will pack lunches for you! We going somewhere every day!" That was the Monday! Tuesday, a knock on the door, again Room Servce say nothing owed! "This was the food promised by Jordan (CHAMELEON)!" Wow, sandwiches, bottles different fruit drinks, bananas! Thank you Jordan!

Michelle B of Bakersfield CALIFORNIA correct in her review! The Guest Service (and every other employee) just so excellent! Knowing all this, thanks for the memories! Looking forward to seeing you on and off for day of Chinese New Year of February 19, 2015 and another Birthday Stay July 15, 2015 to July 24, 2015! As Bob Hope say, "Thank for the memories! I thank you so much!" You all know many times Embassy Suites in Sacra cheaper, but I not feel comfortable in that area, hence me always stay here!

Celebrity Guest (TIGER)

Room Tip: Due to injury in May 2005 where I almost "promoted to glory" for safety I always ask for H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Celebrity Guest (TIGER) for the wonderful review! It is great to hear that all of our employees are able to give you a great hotel experience each time you return for a stay, or just come inside for some orange juice or water. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.