We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
San
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Getaway weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Sheraton Grand is a great location for nearby restaurants with beautiful views from the top floors. The staff was good in most places--the valet was excellent: helpful and prompt, always asking if we needed directions. However, the breakfast restaurant associate Ernesto Gonzalez was a BY FAR a standout. He was always checking on us, was super sweet, and remembered us two days in a row. He checked on on us more than our actual server. He is definitely an asset to the team and made our stay memorable. Thank you Ernesto, you're the best :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that one of our employees was able to provide such outstanding service for you! We hope that you return soon for more exemplary service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    242
    79
    27
    25
See reviews for
71
97
46
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midpines, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great hotel. Pricey, but the room was worth it. Great bed! Right above the convention center. There was a motorcycle there, but the noise was minimal. Great window seats with views of downtown Sacramento. Walking distance to the Capitol. Not much around downtown as far as stores, but we found a great pizza place almost around the corner. We opted for the valet parking, which was safe and awesome! The staff was great! In house restaurant was pricey but the food was good. Great large bathroom. Would return!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We here at the Sheraton Grand are always striving to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. Your positive feedback will be shared with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Easy to find and great location to by near the capitol. Nice staff and we did the club floor so we enjoined the afternoon cheese and snacks that was awesome! Room clean and great size for a small family like ours. The breakfast was also great for something light. We enjoined the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at the Sheraton Grand Sacramento. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I feel badly giving this hotel a four out of five instead of five out of five, but it is with some regret that I do so. Anyway, despite the well-appointed guest rooms and the fantastic staff, the Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel loses that fifth notch because the heavily perfumed soap in the guest room bathrooms caused a dermatological reaction on my face, something that almost never happens to me. I had some explaining to do at the business meeting that I attended with a face which looked like it was on fire, but that is a minor inconvenience. I was surprised, really, as I cannot recall the soap in question, which I have used before, causing a similar reaction in the past. Perhaps this was a regrettable and isolated incident. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on a high room to avoid noise from nighttime traffic plying the streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time from your day to review you experience with us. I am sorry to here about your issues with our soap products and I will forward your message to our appropriate management. Thank you for the positive review and we hope to provide a perfect stay the next time you come to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our long weekend getaway and love it because of convenient location. Located next to convention center and just few blocks from state capitol park Sheraton Grand makes an easy task to reach many restaurants in midtown within 10-15 min walk. Upon our check in we got no recognition of our SPG Gold status and were politely rejected request for upgrade. Our room was located on 15th floor next to the elevator. Room is basic with very basic amenities: coffee maker, a bottle of free water and TV. Next time we paid for an upgrade for Club Floor. For $30/day we got wi-fi and access to Club Lounge. I would say honestly the only perk of Club Room for me was an access to espresso machine serving Starbucks espresso/latte/cappuccino. Happy hour concludes selection of 4 type of cheese and some heated appetizer. I wasn't able to identify the nature of appetizer - some meatballs with nuts(?!). No alcohol has being offered in the Club Lounge and we had no idea how to request/buy it. Next time we tried breakfast in the Club Lounge and it was very basic at best.

I do like :
- Hotel located in the beautifully restored historic Public Market Building in walkable area.
- Rooms were basic but clean.
- SPG Gold could get late checkout (4pm) upon availability
- Nice exercise room available 24 hours a day

Still puzzled:
- No recognition to SPG status and no SPG Preferred floor has being offered.
- No special line for SPG Gold/ Platinum.
- Swimming pool is very small and it seems like it was build for only to comply with hotel star rating system
- Paid internet access for SPG elites.
- No mini fridge in the room.

We loved our stay at the Sheraton but since we got no use of SPG Gold perks here next time in Sacramento I will stay at Hyatt (less expensive and located next to the State Park).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it iss apparent in this case that we fell short. Your feedback will be shared with all of the appropriate teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I recently attended a business meeting at the Sheraton Grand and Elia was our server. She did an amazing job. We had a very full room and having a working lunch. She was such a professional and served nearly fifty of us practically silently. I was so impressed with her.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that one of our employees was able to provide such outstanding service for you and your colleagues! We hope that you return soon for more stellar service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a great stay at the Sheraton in downtown Sacramento! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The public areas were clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The outdoor pool was really fun, and kept clean. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't offer free breakfast, but there were plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Sacramento, and near the capitol building. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are so glad that you had such a comfortable experience with us at the Sheraton Grand. Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel

Address: 1230 J Street, 13th and J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Sacramento, you'll find the city's best shopping and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sacramento
Sacramento Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.