We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for State Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn off Capitol Park to your Saves list
Inn off Capitol Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Lemoore, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for State Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel was very clean. I was concerned when I opened my room and there were two sets of (unused) ear plugs on the bed. The first night I woke up a lot with different noises but the second night I slept like a baby. They put fresh flowers in my room daily and there were even complimentary bottles of water. The towels were fluffy, the bed was firm but not too hard and they offered Bath and Body Works toiletries. The breakfast was a very basic continental but there is a Starbucks and several small cafe's within walking distance. There are multiple bars and restaurants within walking distance and the neighborhood was decent. The elevator was...vintage. It threw me off. I only had a couple of real complaints, the AC didn't get my room super cold but it was still comfortable. The parking situation was not ideal. There were minimal spots at the hotel itself and areas around the hotel were full. I also came back from my day at training to find that the housekeeping staff had not pulled my door completely shut so it was left open for who knows how long. I will definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jennifer H,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento!
Thank you,
Patrick
patrick@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
22
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upper Left Coast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

They took a three-story motor court and turned it into a comfortable middle-of-the-road hotel quite neat the Capitol Park. What must have been the interior courtyard is now covered and serves as a bright solarium. Breakfast served on the second level.

Reflecting it's motor court roots, however, the rooms are small and have windows only facing to the interior. Nice amenities jam packed into the smallish rooms and scarce electric outlets. My bed was comfortable and well appointed. The room was quiet, as well.

The location is in the still-funky midtown section of Sacramento. A great dive Chinese restaurant/bar across the street and trendy bars and restaurants on the blocks to the south.
Walking distance to the Convention Center and surrounding plush hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floor to the back. Don't expect a view or privacy with your curtains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Umbrella man,
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed our central atrium! You will be happy to hear that we have added plug outlets as well as USB outlets to each desk in every room! I believe that this has solved any shortage of electrical outlets.
I hope that you will stay at our property on your next visit to Sacramento.
Thank you,
Patrick
patrick@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our son lives in Sacramento and we always stay at the Inn off Capitol Park when we visit him. The location is great (we can walk to the Capitol and tons of excellent restaurants) but we come back for the service. We have stayed here a dozen times and different people have checked us in and out. They are always friendly and always helpful. I made reservations for the wrong room this time. I needed a pull out bed for my 6 foot tall son. No problem! They changed me to the correct room with no extra cost or hassle. We love the sky lighted area for hanging out and eating breakfast, too. The room is clean, breakfast and coffee nice, location great, price good and service outstanding. Why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We spent two nights at this property and were rewarded with friendly, professional staff who had a good knowledge of the area and were able to make some solid recommendations for food and sightseeing.

I'd definitely stay there again - there was plenty of ground level parking and we found the room spacious and inviting. That the A/C worked very-well was an added bonus as it was well over 100F during our stay. It was everything that we could have asked for ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A nice 'old building' with an atrium roof. Not too many rooms which make the whole place pleasant, and quiet Clean and comfortable room.

Walking distance to bars, (the historical 'Simon' just across the street) restaurants and coffee houses. The capitol building/park about 5 minutes away. Perfect location to walk around downtown Sacramento.

Room Tip: Back rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
MonteCristo19,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento!
Thank you,
Patrick Phillips
patrick@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Took my husband on a surprise trip to Old Town Sacramento for his birthday. Stayed here at the recommendation of a friend. This three-story boutique hotel was easily accessible, even with all the one-way streets in downtown Sac. The staff was very professional, friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate us. With a construction project going on across the street, the front desk clerk offered to put us in a room on the opposite side of the hotel, assuring us it would be quiet. And it was. She even upgraded us to a suite upon our arrival. The room was modern, clean, and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and, although I had heard people in the hallway prior to turning in, we spent a quiet and undisturbed night. The continental breakfast offered on the second-floor atrium is very nice and my husband helped himself to coffee and orange juice even though we planned to eat breakfast at a nearby restaurant. The location of this hotel is within walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops and the State Capitol grounds, which are lovely. The day clerk allowed us to leave our car parked in the covered parking area while we explored downtown, even though we had checked out of our room. We definitely want to visit this charming hotel in this lovely part of Sacramento again.

Room Tip: I think a third-floor room would always be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Kathleen K,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad that we could provide a pleasant stay for your weekend getaway! We all look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sacramento!
Thank you,
Patrick Phillips
patrick@royalguesthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Colleagues and I recently stayed here when in town for an annual conference at the Convention Center, and we were all very pleasantly surprised at our overall stay. We normally stay a little closer to the CC, at the Hyatt or the Sheraton, but tried this hotel is just a block off the east side of Capitol Park this year. We were delighted to find it an easy (and pleasant) 10-minute walk to the Convention Center, and it offers both free parking, and a free continental breakfast with lots of options (yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee).
All the rooms were clean, quiet, had a small refrigerator, and while not "spacious", certainly not crowded-feeling, either. Because the rooms all open into an indoor courtyard/atrium, which some folks found comforting and secure.
Best of all was the hotel staff. All were cheerful, friendly - and helpful! Not familiar with the area, we needed to choose restaurants for two evenings, and they were so helpful in orienting distances, types of cuisine, and value! We all agreed that The Inn Off Capitol Park will be our #1 choice for future Sacramento conventions!

Room Tip: Insist on the top floor (3), as the 2nd floor is centered around the common area which includes the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn off Capitol Park 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn off Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.