We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn off Capitol Park to your Saves list
Inn off Capitol Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful place, quiet, well-appointed rooms, safe. It is difficult to find these qualities downtown Sacramento but this place delivers time and time again. The price is reasonable but the rooms are cozy, clean and have very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear KikiHancock,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
22
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed at all the Inn on Capitol Park offered. The room was quiet and very well appointed with quality amenities and fresh flowers. Steps away from the beautiful Capitol Park and good restaurants. Thoughtful touches such as wine glasses, corkscrew, and bottled water make this property a pleasant place. Free parking and Internet make this a Far better value then other downtown hotels. Thank you for a fabulous stay while on government business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Due to a scheduled 6-month meeting in Sacramento, I booked my stay at this hotel for 4 consecutive months, January being the 3rd month. I was booked for Wed. - Frid. in Jan. I did not arrive till 7:30AM the following day due to family emergency. Patrick, staff at the front desk, with no apologies at first, said my booking had been cancelled the night I missed to check in. He was NOT apologetic, very rude when I was explaining why my booking should NOT be cancelled, and was NOT moved nor showed respect when I said that the least they could do was to call before they cancel. I found out later in their email that my booking is guaranteed till 7 AM the following day! This is the WORST hotel booking I had ever experienced! I am glad Heather of Hotel Med Park was there to book me in that hotel! A VERY POOR way to handle a client's booking! Patrick needs re-training on how to manage cases such as mine!

Room Tip: Do NOT choose this hotel. It stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding the situation with this reservation mis-hap.
First, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience it caused during your trip. The frustration of a no-show or any unexpected change in a guest reservation is shared by the staff as well as the guest.
Choice Hotels does have a policy to "hold" a room until 7am for the arrival of a guest, and then it is automatically released for general sale to the public. The staff has no direct control over the release of the room (all rights reserved) unless they are specifically made aware of the situation and manually adjust the reservation dates. Unfortunately this was a very busy week and as soon as the system released it, the room was reserved.
I want to let you know that both Patrick & I are disappointed that you were unable to stay at the Inn Off Capitol Park. We are not sure exactly how the miscommunication happened but the outcome was an unhappy guest and the team at IOCP works very hard to keep smiles on faces.
Please contact the hotel to receive a gift certificate for a free stay on us, as we would like to gain your confidence back in the hotel.
We hope to hear from you soon, and again thank you for reaching out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn off Capitol Park during Christmas week while visiting family. The location is ideal for walking everywhere....restaurants, pubs, sighseeing and shopping. Our room was clean and well appointed, although on the small size, but that was alright because we were only there to sleep and shower. The bed was really comfortable with wonderful cotton linens, extra blankets and pillows were in the closet but not needed. Fresh flowers were on the desk, a nice touch for Christmas. It looked like the room had been very recently refurbished; new drapes, fresh paint, new lights and bathroom fixtures. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always available. Breakfast was the only thing lacking, although they did have good coffee, not the usual watery stuff that many hotels have. I think my favorite thing was that there were two windows in the bathroom and vanity area and you could actually get fresh air! What a great concept! Hotels never have enough fresh air. Parking is limited, but since we were there at an off week this wasn't a problem, and it is underneath the building which was a bonus because it rained the entire week . We are planning on staying at the Inn on our next visit to Sacramento.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Front Office Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Carrie,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Dunne-Phillips
Front Desk Manager
Royal Guest Hotels
916.447.8100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just Outside Nashvegas, TN
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hubby and I arrived for our one night stay and I was impressed immediately with the curb appeal. Once inside the small lobby, the front desk attendant was super friendly and helpful. We found our room and everything seemed to go down from there. We had a king room on the 2nd floor and it was very tiny. We hardly had room to move once our luggage was in there. The bed was comfortable though. For 110+ a night I was expecting more room but I guess you are paying for the convenicence of being so close to the CA state captial. I was not staying there for that reason so I thought the price was a bit high for what we got.
The breakfast is a joke compared to other Choice Hotels we have stayed at in the past. Bascially it is just coffee, tea, bagels and cereal. Again, I was not staying here for the breakfast so it didnt bother me too much but dont expect too much substance.
There is not a good room in this place. Either you are near the slamming doors or near to open corridor where the breakfast is served. The walls are super thin in this older property. I know because DH and I were awoken numerous times by people talking and slamming doors. This is not the hotels fault for rude people talking obnoxiouslly loud at 2:30am but be aware of the thin walls. Probably not a good idea for people traveling with children.
I was staying here to gain points for my choice rewards program but I can say that this is a step below what a normal Choice Hotel repesents and I could not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Dont Stay near the doors that go out to the bottom floor parking garage. Other guest tend to not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encounter in our hotel. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention so we may correct it as well as to improve where is needed for the satisfaction of our guest.

I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you, please contact me directly in your next trip to Sacramento.

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were celebrating a family occasion in midtown Sac & didn't want to drink & drive, so we opted to stay here because it was within walking distance. What a pleasant surprise. Maxwell at the front desk was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed comfy, and no street noise. We didn't hear any noise from the atrium where the breakfast was located. The breakfast was not hot, but it was more than sufficient with fresh fruit, pastry, bagels w/cream cheese, cereal, coffee, juices, etc. The location was convenient & safe. Free covered parking was a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are very excited to hear from all of our guests, we are very happy to hear you had a great experience at out hotel, that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and our free parking.

Hope to serve you in the near future.

Thank you,

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable. No PBS on TV, but Fox was available--politics of the owners? The only problem was that rooms faced an enclosed interior space where a continental breakfast (so-so) was served in the morning. This meant you had no choice but to listen to conversations of early risers, which were amplified by the enclosed space; don't expect to sleep in. Located six blocks from the front entrance of the Convention Center. I would stay here again if Ineeded to be near the Convention Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank You for your review about your experience at The Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our location. I apologize about hot having the PBS channel available during your stay, I do want to inform you that we are in the process of adding additional channels to our programming and PBS is one of the additions as well as upgrading our continental breakfast.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn off Capitol Park 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn off Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;