We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed; convenient to Convention Center” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn off Capitol Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn off Capitol Park to your Saves list
Inn off Capitol Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Kensington, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable bed; convenient to Convention Center”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable. No PBS on TV, but Fox was available--politics of the owners? The only problem was that rooms faced an enclosed interior space where a continental breakfast (so-so) was served in the morning. This meant you had no choice but to listen to conversations of early risers, which were amplified by the enclosed space; don't expect to sleep in. Located six blocks from the front entrance of the Convention Center. I would stay here again if Ineeded to be near the Convention Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank You for your review about your experience at The Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our location. I apologize about hot having the PBS channel available during your stay, I do want to inform you that we are in the process of adding additional channels to our programming and PBS is one of the additions as well as upgrading our continental breakfast.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
22
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was recommended along with our wedding invitation so, not being from Sacramento, we went with it. I have paid double for a room this nice. We had 2 TV's, a sofa, larger compact fridge, as well as the normal amenities. The gentleman who checked us in and checked us out was very nice and helpful. Once we were settled and prior to the wedding I went for a walk and realized we were near shops, restaurants, parks, and the necessary Starbucks. After the wedding we walked a couple of blocks and found some great "Night Life"!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you for talking the time to write a review about your stay at the Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that we have succeed in making your experience a pleasant one. Our employees are our most valuable assets and we are proud of their accomplishments. It is our goal to give our guests the best possible service.

Thank You,

Maria Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

While visiting friends in Sacramento we stayed two nights in this clean and conveniently located inn in downtown. It features quiet interior rooms on two upper levels, parking underneath and a spartan but adequate breakfast bar (no not food). You can walk to fine dining, the Capitol, lovely parks, Old Sac near the river and the Crocker Museum of Art. This latter jewel is a great find for art lovers and I dare say one that even most locals aren't aware of. Well maintained and easy to miss on its urban corner location with discreet signage, you will find this inn a great value.

Room Tip: I only experienced our room off the elevator on second floor near the breakfast bar. Third floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Inn Off Capitol Park, An Ascend Collection Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the many attractions like Old Sac, Sacramento River, Crocker Museum of Art and fine dining, some located within walking distance from the hotel.

Hope to see you again in your next trip to Sacramento.


Maria Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodfish, California, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed a week in Sacto for a conference but chose this smaller boutique hotel over a corporate monstrosity. It was quiet & lovely!! The rooms are beautifully decorated with all modern conveniences. Parking is free under the rooms and you'll never need your car as the hotel is located within a good stride walking distance from all the government offices, great restaurants and tourist spots. There is a comfy sitting area on the lobby level and a nice continental buffet. My husband tagged along with me and had a great time touring the Capitol and grounds. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank You. We at The Inn Off Capitol Park appreciate your review. We are glad we made your stay very convenient and lovely. We have a great location and we are very happy to hear from our guest that they take advantage and are able to walk to the governmental offices, to the great restaurants in the area and the tourist spots around the hotel.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Maria Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just needed a place to stay for one night in Sacrament, and I wanted to stay downtown. We went on TripAdvisor and looked at several, but we couldn't justify paying some of the prices considering we'd be in and out the next morning. Then I found this place... Right near the Capitol, and we were able to just walk to lots of restaurants and things going on right around there. One note on Downtown Sac...wish your coffee shops stayed open later!! There was a Starbucks and a Java City right nearby, but alas they were closed and it was only 830 or 9pm.
But the hotel was great ...spacious rooms, really cool indoor atrium with a surprisingly good breakfast spread of bagels, danish, cereals, coffee and tea. Lots of couches and tables for sitting and relaxing. (there's a good pic of it in the photos)
Rate was VERY reasonable compared to area hotels. And most importantly, in a town where you can't find parking and it's expensive, they offer free parking.
We were happy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your cool find "The Inn Off Capitol Park, An Ascend Collection Hotel". I'm glad you were able to visit the restaurants in the area and also sit, relax and enjoy our breakfast in the hotel atrium. We love to make our customers happy! Wev appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I am familiar with most of the hotels in the Sacramento area; my girlfriend and I spend a night a week on average trysting in them (we're not married to others, just lazy housekeepers). And the Good Nite Inn ($35 but clean) and Vagabond Inn just ain't romantic enough, to say the least.
For $100 on Fri-Sun nights (too expensive at $140 during the week for us) you get a room that is indistinguishable from one at the Hyatt save for it's being smaller and the bathroom is a bit Motel 6-ish (but clean, with good hot water and pressure). Mattress and linen top shelf, fridge, microwave, flat screen, very plush. I've never had a problem with noise. Pleasant common area (atrium-like) with ceiling fans;juices, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and tea for breakfast. Free parking in indoor area.
The hotel is also centrally located in very good area, unlike cheaper ($50-90) places near Arden, Discovery Park or J St. Walking distance to dining and clubs on J, L and R Sts, 2 blocks from Capitol Rose Garden, 1.5 mi from Old Sac.

All in all, the perfect place for a romantic couple of nights in downtown Sac that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We love to hear from our local guests too. We are very pleased to know you consider our hotel a "perfect place for a romantic couple". Looking forward to serve you again soon!

Maria Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a great little hotel in the perfect location. The staff was wonderful. Check in was smooth and every staff member we came in contact with was more than willing to offer restaurant recommendations, etc. We were originally booked for three nights but when a change of plans occurred, I was able to extend it for a fourth night.

The room was definitely on the small side, but was very comfortable. Our room did not have any evidence of poor housekeeping or lack of maintenance that others have described. Our room faced N St. and we did have a little noise, but the fan drowned that out. The water pressure in the room was wonderful. There was also a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in our room. Others have mentioned parking problems. I don't believe the hotel was full when we were there, but there were always multiple spaces available even when arriving late at night. The spots are tight though, especially if you have a larger vehicle.

We only had breakfast one day while there and it was a basic continental breakfast. Nothing to complain about, but nothing spectacular either.

We were in town for a wedding that took place in downtown Sacramento. The hotel was within an easy walk to the church, making it perfect since my husband and I had to be at the church at different times. It's also within a very easy walk to capitol park. I would highly recommend taking the time to visit the park. Besides the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial, there's a rose garden, a tree grove and many other beautiful areas.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again with no hesitations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCGeneralManager, General Manager at Inn off Capitol Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Please accept our sincere thanks for your review regarding your pleasant stay at our hotel. We are always happy to hear from our guests, especially when their experience is a pleasant one. Thank You for the recommendations for other guests to visit the capitol park, it is an excellent area to visit and explore and within a very short walk from our hotel.

Hope to see you again soon!

Maria Lara
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn off Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn off Capitol Park

Address: 1530 N St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn off Capitol Park 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn off Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Off Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Off Capitol Park
Off Capitol Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn off Capitol Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.