We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopping through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4422 Y Street, Sacramento, CA 95817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stopping through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here one night as a half way point on our drive to Oregon. The location right behind UC Davis Hospital. The lobby area was very clean and modern and the staff were ready to help me upon arrival. The room is spacious for being a standard size. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
13
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is very nice. It's well appointed and cozy, a small but manageable size to navigate. It's obviously ideal if you are visiting UC Davis Medical Center; aside from that it is not within walking distance to local attractions but Sacramento is small enough that you can get to the major sites (capitol, Sutter's Fort, Old Town Sac, American River, etc) from here pretty easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it was very well done. One of the lights was tough to turn off b/c I couldn't find the switch, but that could have been the Indian, not the arrow. If you can get a decent price here, choose this over the other hotels in Sacramento.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed here before as it is well located for a study our son is in at the MIND. We did get to stay in one of the very recently renovated rooms. What can I say? My first impression when we walked in the room was entering a cold cell. Grey walls, laminate furniture, no personality and a lack of warmth. I felt physically cold being in it. I know its probably trendy, and some features - like the TV area with the shelf were good. But other ideas are frankly - bizarre. The odd shaped closet with neither a shelf, nor rod. I've never understood why a room that can sleep four people only has one place to put a single suitcase - why not extend the desk across the wall so suitcases can be put on it (as there are not any drawers) or perhaps a bench or ottoman? Maybe an extra suitcase rack? The bathroom was fine - with the only negative being the basket-like shelves which can't hold a small shampoo bottle, better suited for larger shampoo bottles which you usually don't have on a trip. It was clean. Another new feature is the gated parking lot. It was annoying when the ticket you were given to get out wouldn't open the gate, and worse the ticket was only paper and not a plastic card. Then try remember to bring the ticket with you or keep it in the car where it won't get lost. Going in the lot is pretty tight and you'll find you may hit the curb making the left. I'm sure there were good reasons to gate it but it is annoying. Don't bring a large vehicle - spaces are tight. The pool area did have some nice furniture and does offer a pleasant place to hang out. For our stay which we did not pay for, it was fine. Would I stay here for a pleasure travel? I'd check out what else there is to offer in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate the comments and will share them with our team. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us and feedback from our guests helps us to make improvements to our service and property. I also appreciate the compliments regarding the pool area and the cleanliness of the Hotel. Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard Sacramento Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable with king-sized bed and faultless control of room temperature. Appointments were high quality. Bathroom and shower exceeded expectations. Front desk staff was welcoming and helpful. Parking in the hotel lot cost $8 daily. The hospital complex was not our destination, but the hotel could not be more convenient for anyone visiting the hospitals. Because of remodeling, guests were warned that water in rooms could be interrupted -- and it was. At 10:30 a.m. on a Saturday. Very poor timing. Most disappointing was the lobby walk-up counter 'restaurant,' called the Bistro. The food was overpriced and unappetizing; service was inconsistent. No alternative restaurants were within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator, but noise was no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I appreciate the compliments regarding our guestroom and our Front Desk staff. I apologize for the inconvenience of the water interruption - our renovation is expected to be finished later in May 2014 and we certainly do not expect more challenges with the water once it is completed. I am also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Bistro - we expect all of our food and service to be excellent at all times. I have shared your comments with our management team for review and future action. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is desperately in need of updating...and I understand they are in the process of doing that. It can't come too soon to this hotel. I have stayed in a good number of CY hotels and the room we stayed in was at best early nursing home. Mysterious dark stains on the carpet, while the room was clean, it still smelled. Good location but the Marriott updating machine can't arrive at this hotel too soon. Until it is updated, I would pass.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown. As you mentioned in your review, we are currently undergoing a full renovation of all of our guestrooms. Our first set of newly remodeled rooms was just completed and we are really excited about them. Our renovation work continues - we hope to be completely finished in late April or early May 2014. I hope that you will come back and visit us again and experience the new rooms for yourself! I am confident that the new rooms will meet or exceed your expectations.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed here many times due to its closeness to the hospital and not having to pay for parking. So I was very surprised when they now charge for parking and had raised the price for those of us having family members in the hospital. The bed was not very comfortable and room outdated and smelly for the price you are paying for this hotel. Makes me sad, I use to be very comfortable in this hotel and this time was very disappointed. The staff as always extremely courteous and helpful, always a good experience. I am staying again for a week this next week and I am going to find another hotel to stay at that is not as expensive and will serve breakfast. I never minded paying the extra because of the convenience to hospital, now cannot justify it since you now are paying for parking at the hotel and raising their prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. Regarding the comments that you shared about our guestrooms, I wanted to share that our property is currently undergoing a full renovation of all guestrooms and hallways. We expect the first of our new rooms to be available in just a few days and for the full renovation to be completed in late April or early May. I am confident that you will be pleased with the newly designed rooms once they become available. If you have a chance to contact me directly, I would be very pleased to discuss your other comments (I can be reached at 916-455-6800). Thank you again for taking the time to write a review - I hope that you will give us another try and experience our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown

Address: 4422 Y Street, Sacramento, CA 95817
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sacramento Midtown is the perfect place to relax and recoup after visiting nearby downtown Sacramento. Our beautiful hotel is near the UC Davis Medical Center campus and perfect for both leisure and business travelers. Our spacious guess rooms are designed for guest comfort and feature warm colors to relax the mind. You'll find newly upgraded 32" flat screen TVs, desk area, coffee maker, two-line phone with speakerphone, voice mail and much more! On-site you'll find a business center, fitness center, outdoor pool, and whirlpool for your convenience. Our hotel also features on-site dining available at the Bistro, an American style cafe open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Bistro has a full service bar and proudly serves Starbucks Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Midtown Hotel Sacramento
Courtyard Sacramento Midtown
Sacramento Marriott
Sacramento Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.