We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Dawg cuts the mustard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Dawg - CLOSED

Capitol Dawg
1226 20th St, Sacramento, CA 95811-4204
916-444-1226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Capitol Dawg cuts the mustard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

Went here for lunch (2/2012) and I loved every bite. They have a variety of choices and you can substitute or add as much as you want. Friendly staff and average prices. Cool little place I've always driven by but never stopped for, but now I will come back for sure. They even have veto-dogs and corn dogs. I had the Chicago Dog or prop 51 dog and it was very good accompanied by sweet potatoe fries. Stop by and enjoy!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good dog.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nothing fancy here, but it's a pretty good dog. The prices are very reasonable. Not a place you would want to linger, just get you food, eat, and get out.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Dawg like no other in Sactown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Arriving in early afternoon for late lunch, my friend and I had a El Senador and Tower Dog. The seating was squirrely as most seating is outside. A small place reasonably priced with alot of personality. Parking is a bit spartan but doable. Our Thursday arrival let us stay for the $2 specials. Make way for garlic fries! Once seated, we had a great time and the dogs were delish.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty hot dogs, yummy garlic fries and onion rings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

My hubby and I have had our shares of Costco hot dogs, hot dogs in the ballparks, hot dogs at an air show, and hot dogs in amusement parks.  It's our first time going to a hot dog specialty joint, thanks to Groupon.  We had a really good time.  The menu made for some tough decisions since we wanted to try everything but we knew our eyes were bigger than our stomachs.  My hubby likes pastrami and he also didn't want to miss out on the dawg so he got the Cats Dawg which has pastrami and sauerkraut.  I spent so much time looking at the menu but ended up getting just a turkey dawg with ketchup, mustard, lettuce and tomato.  I plan to be more adventurous next time!  We did try two sides: garlic fries and onion rings...I have to say I was worried they would be either too salty, too fried, too much seasoning or too huge of a portion but they were none of the above.  The garlic fries satisfied our love of garlic without going overboard.  The onion rings were probably among the best I have ever tasted.  I thought both sides were quite "light" and didn't leave us with a greasy, heavy feeling especially since we came here for dinner.  With or without groupons, we will be visiting again!!  By the way, we both appreciated the customer service.  The lady who took our orders was patient with us considering we were a bit overwhelmed with the menu, and being first-timers, we just had a lot of questions.  She didn't make us feel rushed.  We eat out a lot at both "a hole in the wall" places and also fine dining restaurants and we have had our share of bad customer service.  No such problem here.  Thanks Capitol Dawg!  

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

What a cheap, filling meal? This is the place. Vegetarian? You can get a veggie dog. You can build your own dog. The walls are filled with signed celebrity photos at this Sacramento Landmark. The menu is varied and has something for everyone. You'll love the names of some of these dogs. So, for under $10 you can get a huge specialty dog, a side of fries and a bottomless drink. They also serve alcohol.

Look for a discount coupon in the Entertainment Book and check for specials (they were running a $2 dog, $2 fries and $2 ice cream from 4-6PM on a couple of weeknights.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Dawg also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Dawg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.