We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining quality without the price tag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Press Bistro

The Press Bistro
1809 Capitol Ave, Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 444-2566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,773 Restaurants in Sacramento
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fine dining quality without the price tag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The food scene in Sacramento is getting good, really good, and it is because of restaurants like The Press. There are only a couple of really worthy fine dining restaurants in this town, and they are definitely the special occasion places. The other restaurants that claim to be fine dining don't deliver but still have a spendy price tag. The Press is the happy medium. They don't claim to be fine dining, but aside from the casual atmosphere, you would never know that. The food is amazing, the cocktails are delicious and creative, and the service is fantastic. You can roll out of here stuffed to the gills for around $100...and that is with apps, entrees and cocktails (several cocktails.) The servers are knowledgeable about the food and good at offering suggestions for cocktails to go with (or course they have a nice wine list as well, but I haven't gotten through the cocktail list yet!) The tapas are good, but like some others have said they have 2 pieces each, so it's not ideal for a group unless you order multiples of the same. For happy hour snacks they are perfect. The seafood and the risotto are what I keep coming back for though. I have had some of the best risotto of my life here, both times it was with swordfish, but each risotto was so different and worked so well with the fish. Most recently I had the salmon, which was great on its own, but it had a bean and tomato side with it that was so savory and delicious I wanted to sop up the last of the sauce like a soup. The grilled calamari appetizer was also very good. I can't wait to see what the chef comes up with as we come into fall!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We grew up in the Sacramento area and returned for a visit and ate at Press upon a recommendation. We loved the food, atmosphere, and service! We ordered the calamari appetizer and agreed it was the best we've had outside of Hawaii. I had the swordfish for dinner and my husband had the chicken parmasean. Everything was so fresh, light, and delicious. We will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Were in town on vacation and looking for a cool spot. Something that would make us feel at home in Toronto or Montreal and we found it. Great tapas as well as mains an apps. Having all three allowed us to sample tonnes of stuff without going broke or getting stuffed. It's got a great terrasse on a very cool little street, and the interior is open and very chic.

The nicest little touch was the chef making his rounds to check on the tables. Very rare but classy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice, hip dining spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great atmosphere and good food. Nice selection of tapas appetizers, but portion amount could be a bit better. More than three people, you will need to place double orders for each tapas. Quality of ingredients are fresh and tasty. Drinks are reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best Bistro's available in Sacramento,surpasses the others.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

All the selections are fresh and flavorful,nothing is dull or bland.The servers do not hover around and keep their distance,which is fine with me.The ambiance is casual and comfortable,a noticable differance from the uptight and stress of Napa or SFO bay area locations.The Chef greets all the guests at their table,which is unheard in most other places.Prices are very reasonable for this high quality Bistro.I recommend everyone try it at least once.You can bring your own wine bottle for a $20 corkage.A local touch which represents the best of Sacramento.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Press Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Press Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.