We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making the Most of "Sacra-Tomato's" Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie Caterers Market & Cafe

Magpie Caterers Market & Cafe
1409 R Street, Suite 102, Sacramento, CA 95811
+1 916-452-7594
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,771 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Making the Most of "Sacra-Tomato's" Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A recent "quick bite" dinner turned out to be a noteworthy event for me and my husband! Magpie Cafe offers a Caprese Salad that rates as one of the best yet. We ordered just one salad to share -- but were served a foot-long rectangular plate heaped with glorious quarters of ripe red and yellow heirloom tomatoes, smaller sweet and flavorful cherry tomatoes, chunks of toasted bread, balsamic marinated onions, a touch of blue cheese, basil, and of course, soft fresh creamy mozzarella. All of this was tossed in a light and tangy vinegarette that complimented and pulled together all of the flavors. The size of the serving was enough to satisfy 3 or 4 hungry diners. We followed with the homemade paparadelle with even more heirloom tomatoes (we love them!), braised pork belly for extra flavor, olive oil, basil, and cheese. I was very impressed with the wide noodles that were tender yet al dente, presenting all of the flavors beautifully. We sat outside on a beautiful warm Sacramento evening, watching the action as this recently renovated part of town stayed lively even after dark on a Thursday night. Service was thoughtful and complete. One slight criticism -- we had to ask for bread -- an absolute necessity with that fabulous Caprese Salad!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    26
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Used Magpie to host lunch for a office presentation/sales call. The menu really impressed me and the clients I was hosting. I will definitely use them again. My only gripe was the weak compostable plastic ware they gave us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow!! What a great lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just a sample of what great food with fresh ingredients should taste like. I loved the wild salmon dish and it was plated beautifully with freshest heirloom tomatoes and greens. Great tasting and great presentation. All the other dishes that my friends ordered also look appetizing. Affordable and highly recommended!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of my 'go to' places to eat in Sacramento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Outstanding food and dessert made from mostly locally sourced, organic ingrediants. I repeatedly visit for a casual lunch and dinner; if you arrive before 6pm on the weekdays, you'll be able to enjoy their happy hour small plates and drinks. Good choices for vegetarians too. To die for cookies and ice cream sandwiches.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Outdoor tables much quieter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I enjoyed the wild salmon, mushrooms,and cheese plate, but the polenta, loaded with cheese in two firm squares stole the show! Restaurant was packed and loud inside, but the crisp chilled Sauvignon Blanc and plenty of umbrellas made sitting outside enjoyable even on an August evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie Caterers Market & Cafe also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Magpie Caterers Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie Caterers Market & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.