We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Bar & Grill

Bombay Bar & Grill
1315 21st St, Sacramento, CA 95811-4210
916-441-7100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 1,615 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sacramento, California, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Vegan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We ate an early dinner here. I enjoyed the Alu Mutter -vegan potatoes and peas- in a medium hot sauce. Very tasty. The chapatis were warm. The server explained our questions on the different foods. My wife had chicken tiki cooked over vegetables with 3 sauces on the side. Tamarind, mint and cilantro, and spicy pickled (?) onions. All added special favors. Potato and cauliflower naan complimented the meal. The menu is very large and looked appetizing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty rack of lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

When entering the restaurant be prepared to be bombarded by the spiced aroma coming from the kitchen. The decor and ambiance was nice. There was a Bollywood playing on the tv at the bar. With the variety of choices to chose from the menu I ordered the waitress recommended rack of lamb. Which was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food was very good and service was good too. We ordered garlic naan, paneer tikka masala, mixed vegetables, tadka daal and rice -they were all excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Authentic Indian food seems to be as hard to find in Sacramento as it is back in the UK so I was pleasantly surprised to see the great selection on offer. I always find Indian cuisine great value for money as many of the dishes are labour intensive eg numerous spices that have to be roasted and ground to make just one component of a dish eg garam masala.
I chose the Vindaloo curry it was delicious but it could have been even spicier. My daughter chose the Tandoori chicken and Lamb Biryani both were excellent.My only regret was in my drink selection---a Mojito(what was I thinking) it was the strangest tasting Mojito----a much better pairing with my Vindaloo would have been an Indian beer such as Cobra, Kingfisher, Kalyani Black Label. As a previous reviwer stated I did find it a little noisy maybe because the tables seemed to be very close to each other so it was hard to ignore other conversations.
The restaurant parking is on the street and it is metered up until 6pm so it is a good idea to carry plenty of change ie quarters.. All in all great Indian cuisine with not a mention of the dreaded "chips with curry sauce" on the menu--anyone who has visited the UK will understand this reference. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian I have found in Sacramento area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I have been searching for a good Indian restaurant in the Sacramento area. The one in our city closed. We now drive 35 miles to eat there. Have been there several times and each time the food was great. I like it spicy but most US Indian restaurant scale it back. I travel to London occasionally and I would say its as good as many there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.