We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bang for your buck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   430 16th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good bang for your buck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

comfortable , clean rooms!! microwave and refrigirator, too!! marble countertops, dish network on tv and great water pressure in shower! cant go wrong!! close to an awesome bbq/nightclub and a short walk to downtown!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
9
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

There is nothing "fancy" about this place. It's nice enough, decent enough, for when you need a place to stay, and you are on a budget. No snack vending machine. The "continental" breakfast, is choice of toast, per-packaged danish, cold cereal.



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Definitely, there are some things left to be desired about this place. The lighting is stark, the carpet is dirty, smudges on the walls, etc. The "continental breakfast" looked so unappetizing that I just skipped it, and I'm usually a sucker for free food. This is no Holiday Inn.

But then you're not paying Holiday Inn prices either. In fact, with the Orbitz discount, I daresay it was downright cheap. And many of the nicer hotels don't have breakfast at all, unless you pay a price that makes the breakfast just as unappetizing.

If you ask yourself what you really need in a hotel, not what you would ideally want, this place has what you need. The bed itself is clean and soft. The temperature control works well. No noise. No creepy crawlies bit me at night. There is a refrigerator. Bathroom is clean, soap is provided and water pressure is good. Parking is free, and they even let me park all day on the day of check-out, which is a big deal because it was a workday and I had an all-day conference and meetings in the State Capitol. Finding parking that doesn't cost an arm and a leg is always a problem near the Capitol on a weekday.

Would I stay here if it wasn't the cheapest place around? Probably not. But for the price, it was well worth it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

At first I was against the idea of staying at a downtown hotel, but boy am I glad I stayed at this hotel. It really exceeded my expectations, starting with the most friendliest staff to the comfortable and clean rooms. The location was perfect everything is within a walking distance, this is a very safe hotel. Since the hotel is not far from the gym where most pro mma fighters train odds on that you'll meet some of them at the hotel, I met a couple of them from Switzerland at the lobby this afternoon. Overall I enjoyed staying at this hotel and definitely will be staying here whenever I am in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The place is a good value. Our sheets were dirty but they came and fixed the problem quickly. The staff can be overworked at night though. Our smoke detector kept beeping because the batteries needed to be changed and they were too busy to get to us. Overall it's a cheap place and reasonably close to downtown.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamrock, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have read the previous reviews and after staying in a few ABVIs decided to give but a try. We booked online and requested downstairs but were put on 2nd floor, the elevator is still out. Neither my husband or I are able to lug our luggage up stairs but they quickly changed it. The lobby at check in did smell of curry but that is their home and culture so was not offended in the least. We stayed in room 124 and it was gorgeous! The WiFi was very fast and the bed comfortable. We had to stay in a motel 6 the night before for the same price and it was terrible. They take AAA, AARP etc but don't list it on their site so be sure to keep that in mind when booking. It is away from the freeway but I enjoyed walking to the thrift stores close by and felt very safe. We also had no problem with the hot water. We would certainly stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The owners (extended family) live behind the lobby, and the place reeks of curry. Industrial part of town, not a walking area. First room had no TV reception, no hot water (later I found it does, you must run the water for 20 minutes before it gets hot), and the WiFi flickered. When I checked in they were all friendly and happy- when I insisted on a new room the next day, they became angry. I stayed for a week. The second room was comfortable (although the TV had the same issues). Other than great coffee, the breakfast is a joke. I saw no cockroaches in a week. They did let me check in early, begrudgingly. No ice buckets- they gave me a used plastic bag to get ice from the lobby- there was a glass beer bottle in the ice- dangerous. If you need ABVI for points, etc., there's a far better ABVI 2 miles away by the river. Note: The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are much more spacious than the rooms on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
4.6 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#37 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#35 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#40 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Downtown

Address: 430 16th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown, conveniently located off of US-50, only a mile from the California State Capitol Building. Local attractions include the Capitol Casino, California Musical Theatre, Governor's Mansion Historic Park, California State University Sacramento, and Sutters Fort State Historical Park. After a fun day of sightseeing guests can enjoy a satisfying meal at one of the local restaurants including H Salt Fish and Chips, P F Chang's, and Old Spaghetti Factory. Our courteous 24-hour front desk staff strives to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Guests are treated to our free daily continental breakfast served from 7am - 10am and free coffee in the lobby from 7am - 3pm. Our recently renovated Sacramento hotel features new furniture, mattresses, and linens in all guest rooms. Guest rooms are generously equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-fridges, satellite TVs with HBO, hairdryers, writing desks, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.